Pumpkin Spice Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I baked this loaf and shared it with friends at my church's weekly movie night recently, and it was a hit! It was very moist with only a hint of the many spices that were used in making this wonderful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group. I only made 1/2 the recipe. And I made a few changes as I usually do. First, I live at high altitude, so I added 1 heaping tablespoon of flour. Also I substituted 3/4C whole wheat flour for white flour. After mixing all the ingredients, the batter was very thick, so I added 1/2 cup of apple cider, since I had some. The thick batter really had to be addressed, so that's why 3 stars. I made muffins, which took 26 minutes to bake. The spice taste is stronger than the pumpkin. A good muffin. I don't know if I will make these again or not, but it was fun to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Really good, and my girls couldn't wait for them to bake! I did make muffins for portability, and baked them for 35-40 minutes. I had some pepitas and decided to top half the batch with them also. Thanks, I love that these use no oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...I guess I'm in the minority here, but this was just ok for us. I made it exactly as written, but mine came out w/ quite a rubbery texture that we really didn't care for. The flavor was nice and spice-y, though. I also liked that this was a healthier version of pumpkin bread. This is something that I will most likely not make again, but I was glad to give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 22, September 2012 ~ This is a custom version of another Pumpkin Spice Bread that used to be on AR. It is now located at TOH. The difference being, this bread uses no oil. I made a half batch of this as written and added oil to the other batch. This texture is more rubbery and dry. I made 3 different pumpkin breads in the same day, and did a taste test with a few different people, without telling them anything about any of the breads. Sorry to report, this was the least favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This was decent. DIdn't knock my socks off, but yummy. I liked that it didn't take oil but it was still nice and moist. I do agree with other reviewers that pumpkin wasn't the most prominent flavour. I didn't have most of the individual spices, so I used about 3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice (for just one loaf).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Very dense but moist cake. I added 1/2 cup applesauce and nuts as my changes. Def. overpowering on the spices, maybe decrease by 1/2. I'm am sure it will be devoured up anyways as its not that bad. The spice is why I gave it 4 stars. It was done at 60 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Moist, but lacking in pumpkin flavor. Still good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Block

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Recipe group selection 9/22/12. I had high hopes for this but it's really just OK. I felt there was far more sugar than we would enjoy, so I cut back to 3/4 cup each white and brown and it is plenty , but something seems to be missing, maybe ginger. I made 12 muffins and 1 8" loaf. The muffins tested done at 20 minutes, but could have baked for another 5 or so. The loaf tested done at 35 minutes and started smelling burnt at 40, so I removed it from the oven, cooled it and wrapped for freezing, so we'll see. I thought eliminating the oil would make this lighter than my usual recipe but this seems much denser. Thanks for something new to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I wasn't a huge fan of this but my whole family was so Ill probably make this again just for them but maybe tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States