Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Ug, what a disappointment, no amount of additions could save this and we dumped it all down the drain. Agree with others that maybe sauteeing the onion and garlic first might be the key. Used red onions and it was bitterly overwhelming of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is one of the most wonderful new recipes I've tried recently. I've made it with pumpkin and several types of squash. I add a pound of browned sausage or seasoned ground pork. It's delicious fresh or a couple of days later. When I run the pumpkin or squash through the blender, I don't do it again after adding other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Clark
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I prepared this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. It was simple to make and made me feel like a gourmet chef. Presentation is everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Scrumptious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by China McCabe
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great recipe. I sautéed the onions, thyme, peppercorns, and garlic before adding the chicken stock and pumpkin puree. My fiancee, 14 year old, and six year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by China McCabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I just finished making this soup today and it is very delicious and smells great! After reading a lot of reviews from this site and looking at other recipes, I made a few small changes. First, I decided to roast and puree two small (whole) pumpkins that were left from Halloween (why let them rot?). Then, I sauteed the vegetables before adding one 32oz of vegetable and one 32oz of chicken stock. Using ingredients from another recipe, I chopped a handful of baby carrots and fresh rosemary and sauteed with the onion and garlic (4 cloves). After all the negative responses to the thyme, I thought rosemary would be better. After sauteing, I followed the instructions as stated in this recipe. I have to admit it was a lot of work; but, the house smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Brundick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Franci
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I love this recipe, I also would do a bit less of the whipping cream or I can even go with out it for a healthier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Excellent soup! My husband and I loved it. This is the first pumpkin or squash soup we've made. Made it from fresh pumpkin. Added a little extra onion, garlic and thyme because we like those seasonings. Very happy with the creamy texture and delicious flavor. We will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Bjerke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Yummy and easy to make. Used one can of pumpkin puree which was 3.5 cups and reduced chicken broth to 4 cups. I garnished the soup with cinnamon toast croutons. This was a trial run but plan to make it again for Thanksgiving.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I don't think thyme belongs to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Levin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States