Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
We like our pumkin soup sweeter, so if you chop the onions bigger and then after it starts to boil, put the soup through a collander to remove the onions. Then put back on heat and add 1/3 cup sugar and some nutmeg to taste, then simmer for 30 minutes and add 1 tablespoon heavy cream, to cut back on the fat, this is a fabulous sweeter tasting pumpkin soup! Try it you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I revised it a bit! I used a large can of pumpkin puree, 2 8oz cans of low sodium chicken broth, 1 med acorn squash cooked, 1 med sweet potatoe cooked, 1 lg onion cooked in oil oil. I cut the squash in half removed the seeds, rubbed the skin with olive oil and put on some brown sugar, baked at 375 for 35 min or until soft, peeled and boiled the sweet potatoe. When the sqash was done scooped it out, threw in the potatoes with pumpkin & broth, used a stick blender to puree, leaving some bits, then added my spices, graham marsalla, cumin, salt, red pepper, nutmeg, curry, brown sugar, garlic power all to taste, heated to boiling it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarianne
Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
All time favorite soup. Love to add extra spices and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Pumpkin is better sweet. i will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
i don't know what it was with this soup but i was not psyched with the end result. maybe i added too much thyme. i'm not sure. a suggestion to anyone trying this recipie. add coconut milk instead off cream. also add a litte hot sauce. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is a great soup but needs more garlic (I used 4 cloves, seemed about right) and also added a 1/2 tsp. of curry powder and 1/2 tsp. of cumin and a dash of cinnamon which gave it some flavor. I sauteed the garlic and onions (and added a stalk of celery because i had it) with the spices and then added the rest. This worked well. I also used 1/2 and 1/2 to reduce the fat content. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Terribly bland will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin_rage2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raceland, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lockport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I got lots compliments for this soup and it's really easy to make. Highly recommended for anyone loves smooth, creamy but not chunky soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I brought this to Thanksgiving dinner. It was easy to make and everyone that tried the soup loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaceygirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Tried it, oh it's so good, easy and cheap! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States