Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I've now made this recipe twice from fresh pumpkin and feel it's missing a bit of body. So, I added extra black pepper and garlic, Madras Curry Powder, 1 t fresh ground ginger, Cholula hot sauce, butter and pumpkin pie spice. Cholula is more sweet than hot but does give the soup a little kick. Delicious! The timing listed is inaccurate as it doesn't account for the time it takes to puree the soup in small batches. Also, if you're using fresh pumpkin, it will take time to cut, cook and puree (I just use a potato masher).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I don't cook much but tried this and it was the best. I tried it with the veritable stock and the scoop of peanut butter I also added ground cloves and cinnamon second time I left the peanut butter out and put two packets of Splenda it was great both times. Even my parents liked it. Oh I also used canned pumpkin purée.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This soup was so easy and tasty! Really good!! so smooth and creamy. I made this soup for my family and my grandmother thought I added saffron to this soup, that's how good the color was! They all loved it! I'm not a fan of pumpkin but this recipe changed my mind lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe tastes A THOUSAND times better with 2 tsps of yellow curry. Seriously. Otherwise, it's bland....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Really amazing! Sauteed onion & extra garlic ahead of time, then put all but the cream in a microwavable bowl since I wouldn't be home for supper. Used white pepper, dried thyme. Instructions were: Simply heat, add cream, & eat. (*sigh* kids add too many crackers - but loved it) Easy for my young daughter to serve up for the family. I personally love pumpkin, & was looking forward to tasting a new pumpkin soup. However, when I finally had some of this soup, I was surprised to find that I couldn't taste any of the pumpkin. That was an added blessing since hubs does NOT like pumpkin. HE LIKED THIS! (he liked our modified version of Stuffed Shells 2 from this site better the next night - it turned into a modified lasagna-lite, but who is going to make anything as complex as lasagna every nite???). Served this soup w/Pear & Blue Cheese Salad from this site, which hubs utterly loved (adding a touch of sugar to the dressing), & Italian Wheat Rolls (also from this site - using 70-75% whole wheat rather than as directed). This made a really lovely fall meal which he actually enjoyed (perhaps especially because of the salad & rolls, but he liked the soup fine). That little menu is going into our fall rotation as of now. Thanks so much Allrecipes & Lea, for yet another success story in our kitchen! Oh, & later, when I wanted a snack in the evening, I finished off this soup! Yummmm.....!!!!!! Next time, might try: 6 tsp. chicken bouillon crystals, 2'sh C water, 4'sh C soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I did not add the heavy cream to cut down on calories and didn't even miss it. I will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Use an immersion blender and it's easier than doing small batches in the processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Wasnt a big hit with my wife and I but adding a 1/2 cup of brown sugar made it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Delicious! An entire family pleaser. I like to use fresh pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Absolutely love this savory pumpkin soup. I'm craving it again now even though it's 100 degrees outside! I can't wait for fall and pumpkins to come back in season so I can make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States