Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I modified this recipe for today's Thanksgiving meal and it is yummy!!!! I didn't add any cream and it definitely doesn't need it. I added two medium sweet potatoes, a cup of water, extra thyme and two extra cloves of garlic. Delicious for Thanksgiving or any cold fall or winter night. I also sauteed the chopped (yellow) onion, garlic, and thyme before adding it to the chicken stock. I also make my own chicken stock. Since I knew I would be using the stock for this recipe, I added half of a bunch of thyme to the stock. The depth of flavor in this modified version of the soup is wonderful! The soup is rich, creamy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This recipe was truly a disappointment to me and my family. We wanted to try something different for Thanksgiving, but this soup was below our expectations. We made it just like the recipe said, but it turned out to be too salty. We had to add brown sugar, honey, and pumpkin pie spice to make it edible. After pureeing it, we had to add more cream than the recipe called for to dilute the salty taste of the soup. Even after all that, the soup was still not what we hoped for. We will definitely not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Simple, easy, taste great, use at Thanksgiving as guest arrive as a shooter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Delicious! Thanks for the recipe, it is now going to be a winter staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Good soup. Not a lot of flavor but it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe was very good. My entire family enjoyed it, even those that were leery of a soup with pumpkin in it! I did tweak a few things to suit my family's tastes and to use what I had on hand. Here are the things that I adjusted: used regular pepper, added a chicken bullion cube, and cut the salt and garlic in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I found this soup way too bland. Disappointed as I was serving it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I usually have very good luck with recipes here but not this time. I made only 1/2 the recipe to see if we liked it. Not sure what I did wrong. All the reviews were great but hubby & I did not care for it. So sorry but this just was not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
(served 12)I used 8c. fresh pumpkin w/3c. of chicken stock,cooking till tender,drain saving broth(keep 1 cup cubed cooked pumpkin aside not mashed)mashed pumpkin thoroughly.Sauteed toll lucent 1/2 finely chopped vadailia onion,2 stalks finely chopped celery,2 cloves crushed garlic to pan w/tsp olive oil,removed garlic.Return pumpkin,broth to pan.1tbsp.pumpkin pie spice,1tsp white pepper,1tsp kosher salt,2Tbsp honey.Heat thoroughly.I added few pieces of whole cube cooked pumpkin,1 tbls cream to top of soup when served as well as a baked pumpkin/salted seeds. if leftovers..they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snapshotgramma's best

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA
Living In: Germantown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I don't know that I'd make it again. It was okay, but it lacked flavor and just tasted like not-too-sweet pumpkin pie. I don't know what I was expecting from a pumpkin soup, but that wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLETTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States