Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Almost there, just a bit bland, again as another reviewer stated, probably the pumpkin. So, I roasted a sweet potato, used half of it. Worked in perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was a great recipe that could be done with no dairy at all if needed! I used light sour cream and the flavor was great! Good great yumms from the guests too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is an absolutely delicious recipe! I used 3 cloves of garlic instead of one, 8 cups of raw pumpkin like another reviewer suggested, and five new potatoes, diced. The garlic helped the flavor a lot. And I left out the milk for lower calories. It tasted buttery even without any butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
It is delicious. I used half and half in place of heavy cream and used my immersion blender to puree. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Love love love this recipe! I have been making it for the last three years or so and its a wonderful and super EASY way to have pumpkin! I always use fresh pumpkin (3.5-4 cups chopped) and you can freeze it and make again when you can't buy the little pumpkins! I use a little extra garlic (3 cloves), use 4 cups of chicken broth ( a carton) and add two cups of water with a cube for vegetable broth. I usually use dried thyme/parsley. I've tried it with both coconut milk or skim milk and its turned out great.. To turn it into a complete and HEALTHY meal.. I add about a cup (maybe a bit more) of white kidney beans just before adding the milk and blend it with the hand blender.. now thats clean eating!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I've now made this recipe twice from fresh pumpkin and feel it's missing a bit of body. So, I added extra black pepper and garlic, Madras Curry Powder, 1 t fresh ground ginger, Cholula hot sauce, butter and pumpkin pie spice. Cholula is more sweet than hot but does give the soup a little kick. Delicious! The timing listed is inaccurate as it doesn't account for the time it takes to puree the soup in small batches. Also, if you're using fresh pumpkin, it will take time to cut, cook and puree (I just use a potato masher).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I don't cook much but tried this and it was the best. I tried it with the veritable stock and the scoop of peanut butter I also added ground cloves and cinnamon second time I left the peanut butter out and put two packets of Splenda it was great both times. Even my parents liked it. Oh I also used canned pumpkin purée.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This soup was so easy and tasty! Really good!! so smooth and creamy. I made this soup for my family and my grandmother thought I added saffron to this soup, that's how good the color was! They all loved it! I'm not a fan of pumpkin but this recipe changed my mind lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe tastes A THOUSAND times better with 2 tsps of yellow curry. Seriously. Otherwise, it's bland....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Really amazing! Sauteed onion & extra garlic ahead of time, then put all but the cream in a microwavable bowl since I wouldn't be home for supper. Used white pepper, dried thyme. Instructions were: Simply heat, add cream, & eat. (*sigh* kids add too many crackers - but loved it) Easy for my young daughter to serve up for the family. I personally love pumpkin, & was looking forward to tasting a new pumpkin soup. However, when I finally had some of this soup, I was surprised to find that I couldn't taste any of the pumpkin. That was an added blessing since hubs does NOT like pumpkin. HE LIKED THIS! (he liked our modified version of Stuffed Shells 2 from this site better the next night - it turned into a modified lasagna-lite, but who is going to make anything as complex as lasagna every nite???). Served this soup w/Pear & Blue Cheese Salad from this site, which hubs utterly loved (adding a touch of sugar to the dressing), & Italian Wheat Rolls (also from this site - using 70-75% whole wheat rather than as directed). This made a really lovely fall meal which he actually enjoyed (perhaps especially because of the salad & rolls, but he liked the soup fine). That little menu is going into our fall rotation as of now. Thanks so much Allrecipes & Lea, for yet another success story in our kitchen! Oh, & later, when I wanted a snack in the evening, I finished off this soup! Yummmm.....!!!!!! Next time, might try: 6 tsp. chicken bouillon crystals, 2'sh C water, 4'sh C soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States