Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I loved this soup, but I made a few changes. I added about 1/2 cup of apple cider to soup after puree process. I also added pumpkin pie spice. Instead of cream I added 1/3 of a can of fat free evaporated milk. The recipe was simple but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Something was missing. I used canned pumpkin purée not sure if that was it. But it lacked flavor and I prepared it just as the recipe called for. I definitely would not make this again ... The amount of work was not worth the end result :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I like to add a dollop of plain, nonfat Greek yogurt for the "cream" part of the recipe. This basic recipe is good, and my tweaks were minor ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Pretty good. Simmered for 30 minutes. Any longer and it would have turned back into purée. Will sauté veggies first next time. Recommend not leaving out cream. It's only one tablespoon per serving anyway and it adds a lot of flavor. Nice for lunch or an easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was pretty good. I let mine reduce a bit, as is I found it a bit too thin for my taste. Using pureed pumpkin I found the blender not necessary. A tip I use to get "roasted" flavour out of canned pureed pumpkin is to spray a 9x9 glass dish with Pam, then put the puree in it and pop it in the oven for about 20 minutes until the edges get as browned and bubbly as you like, then throw it in the soup. Yes it's an extra step but it takes nothing and you can do other things while its baking. Scrape all the little browned bits in, it really makes a difference. Canned pumpkin is still an excellent product, and much easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have made this soup in the past with RAVE reviews. I made 3 gallons of it for a large Thanksgiving and barely got to have a small cup of it for myself. Most people were leery of it but tried it anyway and loved it. I added sage sausage and dried sage and curry as well. I have also made it with 4 tablespoons of DiSarono added and that was the biggest hit of all. This is a staple of our Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Perfect. Thanks from Denmark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo Bjødstrup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I added about 3/4 teaspoon of curry powder and 1/2-3/4 cup of maple syrup. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I replaced the heavy whipping cream with cream of coconut to make it dairy-free. Instead of peppercorns, I just sprinkled in some ground black pepper. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States