Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Yummy and easy to make. Used one can of pumpkin puree which was 3.5 cups and reduced chicken broth to 4 cups. I garnished the soup with cinnamon toast croutons. This was a trial run but plan to make it again for Thanksgiving.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I don't think thyme belongs to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Levin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I added about a half teaspoon of crushed red peppers and got so many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Paradise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Sadly I was not overly excited by the end result of this recipe. I followed it word for word but it seemed not quite right. The thyme was too over powering and I think I wasn't thinking about the fact that this is a savory soup. Next time I will try it with cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Zambito

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Meh. Super bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Converse
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Converse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I used this as a base. I did add the thyme but next time I think I will omit. I'm trying to produce a soup like Egg Harbor's Autumn Pumpkin. I sautéed the onion, 3 good size garlic cloves and 2 chopped celery stalks and a little shredded carrot, then added the pumpkin and low sodium chicken broth. I also added fresh ground mixed pepper corns, white pepper, cumin, curry, a bay leaf, ground sea salt, a touch of cinnamon and coriander. After simmering for a bit, I used an immersion blender. I let the soup cool and then reheated later for dinner. I did not add cream or milk as I didn't think it necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
The PERFECT fall soup recipe! Savory, sweet, creamy, comforting! I omitted the parsley (not a fan of parsley) and added a tablespoon of ginger paste, and a little extra garlic (my family would eat it raw if I would let them!)... Everything else the same. My kids now BEG for this soup! Thank you for this recipe! The subtle thyme, ginger, pumpkin, creamy goodness is the perfect warm up dinner for a snow day or the best get-everyone-to-the-table fall after school before sports dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
From the beginning I knew I was going to add hot sausage to this soup. I had never had pumpkin soup, so I tasted it before adding the sausage. Then I tasted it after adding the sausage and liked it so much better! This will be a great fall and winter soup for my husband and me. (I did use dried thyme.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Katie Brixen
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made this under the assumption that it probably wouldn't be great, because its such a simple recipe. But I was happily wrong. This is a very savory recipe, and its delicious fresh and leftover. Alterations: I added a bit less thyme than the recipe calls for, because it started smelling more like a sauce than a soup. Also, I don't think heavy whipping cream is necessary for the success of the recipe. It may make it a little richer, but it did little to the consistency that I could tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Brixen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States