Pumpkin Soup the Easy Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Made as stated in the recipe. This was not one of those slightly sweet coconutty pumpkin soups, I like those, but this isn't that. It was great comfort food, kind of a potato soup. I served with a spoon of greek yogurt on top and a dash of chili powder. At the table, I had to salt it, but hubby did not. I might play around and season it up some more next time, but it is good wholesome food as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The quantities are wrong. It came out like paste. I dumped in a couple cups of milk and water to make it more like soup. Also I did not care for the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
it was way too think and the taste with the thyme and ham was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammyeb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was fantastic!! Only adjustment was that I used fresh pumpkin and I did not include the ham. BEST pumpkin soup recipe I ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I made this soup with a fresh pumpkin, I cut into half, deseeded and rubbed with melted butter, then baked for about 40 minutes until golden. I scooped out the pumpkin and and combined with the broth. I also added a cut up and roasted ruderbager for a extra bite of flavor as pumpkin is a very lightly flavor vegetable once baked. I had my doubts about the flavor when I first made this soup. I made in the morning and reheated it that evening and all the flavors had blended together. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Completely awesome! I used a block of cream cheese instead of the cream (that's what I had in the house at the time), which worked ok, but I'm making it again tomorrow with cream and am looking forward to it. This is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslisashoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This did not work at all for me. It was way too thick, with pumpkin being the only flavor. I ended up making a lot of changes last minute. I adding at least another carton of broth, some brown sugar and an entire pint of half and half. Once everything was said and done, I got a lot of compliments. The small pieces of garlic and onion were wonderful. I will make this again. But with the changes mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
usually my kids turn their nose up at everything thats not from a box when I(dad) cook. however this one they ate all of it and wanted to know when i was gonna make it again. there wasnt even enough left overe for me to take to work the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Amt. are not right 3 cans of Pumpkin (29 Oz)total 87 oz, versus 32 oz. of broth -fluid. Soup way too thick even after adding 2/3 cup of cream. Added milk until it was the right consistency. Used cream cheese instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States