Pumpkin Soup the Easy Way Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Made as stated in the recipe. This was not one of those slightly sweet coconutty pumpkin soups, I like those, but this isn't that. It was great comfort food, kind of a potato soup. I served with a spoon of greek yogurt on top and a dash of chili powder. At the table, I had to salt it, but hubby did not. I might play around and season it up some more next time, but it is good wholesome food as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The quantities are wrong. It came out like paste. I dumped in a couple cups of milk and water to make it more like soup. Also I did not care for the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
it was way too think and the taste with the thyme and ham was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammyeb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was fantastic!! Only adjustment was that I used fresh pumpkin and I did not include the ham. BEST pumpkin soup recipe I ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I made this soup with a fresh pumpkin, I cut into half, deseeded and rubbed with melted butter, then baked for about 40 minutes until golden. I scooped out the pumpkin and and combined with the broth. I also added a cut up and roasted ruderbager for a extra bite of flavor as pumpkin is a very lightly flavor vegetable once baked. I had my doubts about the flavor when I first made this soup. I made in the morning and reheated it that evening and all the flavors had blended together. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Completely awesome! I used a block of cream cheese instead of the cream (that's what I had in the house at the time), which worked ok, but I'm making it again tomorrow with cream and am looking forward to it. This is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslisashoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This did not work at all for me. It was way too thick, with pumpkin being the only flavor. I ended up making a lot of changes last minute. I adding at least another carton of broth, some brown sugar and an entire pint of half and half. Once everything was said and done, I got a lot of compliments. The small pieces of garlic and onion were wonderful. I will make this again. But with the changes mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
usually my kids turn their nose up at everything thats not from a box when I(dad) cook. however this one they ate all of it and wanted to know when i was gonna make it again. there wasnt even enough left overe for me to take to work the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Amt. are not right 3 cans of Pumpkin (29 Oz)total 87 oz, versus 32 oz. of broth -fluid. Soup way too thick even after adding 2/3 cup of cream. Added milk until it was the right consistency. Used cream cheese instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States