Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Yes, this makes a very rich, creamy soup. It was quite filling and, with croutons and some bread, was a very satisfying meal. I used Half and Half to lower the fat content and found it quite suitable. In fact, the pumpkin puree is so smooth and rich, I feel even a low fat 2% milk or even water would suffice. I have yet to experiment! I found it difficult to cut and cube the sweet pumpkin raw, so I seeded it and cut it in half, drizzled it with oil and baked it in the oven with the other vegetables with the skin on. After 40 minutes or so the skin just fell off and I could continue baking the pumpkin until nice and soft. I am also going to try adding a few cloves of garlic to the roasted vegetables to give it some added zing next time! One last word of caution...watch the nutmeg. It gives the soup a real nice flavor, but too much can be overpowering. I really recommend giving this soup a try...it is rich and flavor-some and quite easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This soup was absolutely delicous! The only changes I made were to use 2% milk instead of cream and I used about 1 teaspoon of nutmeg which was just right. Everyone loved it and asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
I made this recipe for 50 people - a great success! I added a couple of large garlic bulbs to the roasting vegetables and squeezed out the roasted cloves to add in when pureeing the soup. Only used 1 teaspoon nutmeg based on 4kg pumpkin. The roasted flavor was distinctive, and the soup was not sweet. The roasted garlic flavour came through strongly due to the quantity I used - but would do the same again! The best pumpkin soup I've ever made - and I've made plenty! My family loves soup - this will become a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This soup is rapidly becoming a family favorite. The first time I made it I didn't have any nutmeg on hand, but I did have garam masala and it went even better with the soup. Also, 2% or skim milk work just fine if you're watching calories. Also, if you overcook the veggies a bit, the onions get caramelized and add a nice richness to the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I am pregnant and craving Pumpkin Soup and this recipe sure hit the spot! It was especially good with homemade bread.....YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I normally don't like pumpkin soup, but I inherited a HUGE pumpkin from my parents veggie patch, so I thought I'd give it a try. This recipe is very easy, and the soup turned out great! I doubled it, thinking it'd fill a 9 litre pot, but it still only filled just over half - I will triple it next time, as it got eaten very quickly by my 5 flatmates! I added 4 cloves of garlic, and a little less nutmeg, I think next time I'll experiment by adding a sweet potato to the normal potatoes. This one's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
This is my favourite pumpkin soup yet - it has a beautiful creamy texture, and a roast vegetable flavour. I especially love the nutmeg in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This is very good, I substituted evaporated milk and one apple for one of the potatoes and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca M
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This recipe was absolutely delicious, especially with the taste of the nutmeg and roasted vegetables (I added 3 cloves of garlic in with the veggies before roasting them). Will definitely be making this again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
good, but not worth the trouble. easier to just make all in the pot on the stove and tastes just as good. don't put roasted pumpkin seeds on top. hard to eat with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States