Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
not what we anticipated. did not have a good smooth pumpkin flavor, sour, and very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I thought this soup tasted good. i also gave this to my boyfriend (who HATES pumpkin) and he liked it!! The only reason i give this 4 stars instead of 5 is that the recipe turned out WAAAY to peppery! 1 tsp of pepper?? That must be a typo. I ended up having to make another batch (w/o spices) to mix with the original one, to dilute the spiciness (and even then you can still taste the pepper pretty strongly). And yeah, i think the nutmeg amount is also a typo...i only put in half a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I love this recipe and make it at least once a week during the winter months. I also add sweet potato, but I roast it with the other veggies. My husband isn't wild about nutmeg, so I cut back on the amount in the soup and take the nutmeg and grater to the table with me. I'm pregnant at the moment and am turned off by most veggies, but I crave this soup all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I've made this recipe 4 times since November and "tweaked" it with other reviewers suggestions and its come out great. I use a sweet potatoe instead of a regular one, and use 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream, and reduced the nutmeg down to about 1/2 a teaspoon. I made it for my family on Thanksgiving and it got great reviews and was asked to bring it on Christmas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
this was my first time making pumpkin soup. I guess my tastebuds just dont like pumpkin soup because i didn't want anymore after the first spoonful. I'm sure it would have been great for others though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I normally don't like pumpkin soup, but I inherited a HUGE pumpkin from my parents veggie patch, so I thought I'd give it a try. This recipe is very easy, and the soup turned out great! I doubled it, thinking it'd fill a 9 litre pot, but it still only filled just over half - I will triple it next time, as it got eaten very quickly by my 5 flatmates! I added 4 cloves of garlic, and a little less nutmeg, I think next time I'll experiment by adding a sweet potato to the normal potatoes. This one's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
I made this recipe for 50 people - a great success! I added a couple of large garlic bulbs to the roasting vegetables and squeezed out the roasted cloves to add in when pureeing the soup. Only used 1 teaspoon nutmeg based on 4kg pumpkin. The roasted flavor was distinctive, and the soup was not sweet. The roasted garlic flavour came through strongly due to the quantity I used - but would do the same again! The best pumpkin soup I've ever made - and I've made plenty! My family loves soup - this will become a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This soup was absolutely delicous! The only changes I made were to use 2% milk instead of cream and I used about 1 teaspoon of nutmeg which was just right. Everyone loved it and asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Yes, this makes a very rich, creamy soup. It was quite filling and, with croutons and some bread, was a very satisfying meal. I used Half and Half to lower the fat content and found it quite suitable. In fact, the pumpkin puree is so smooth and rich, I feel even a low fat 2% milk or even water would suffice. I have yet to experiment! I found it difficult to cut and cube the sweet pumpkin raw, so I seeded it and cut it in half, drizzled it with oil and baked it in the oven with the other vegetables with the skin on. After 40 minutes or so the skin just fell off and I could continue baking the pumpkin until nice and soft. I am also going to try adding a few cloves of garlic to the roasted vegetables to give it some added zing next time! One last word of caution...watch the nutmeg. It gives the soup a real nice flavor, but too much can be overpowering. I really recommend giving this soup a try...it is rich and flavor-some and quite easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Overall I liked the soup. However, there was just too much nutmeg. My family didn't like it because of the sweet taste. I thought that after a few bites the pepper stood out more...that's what I liked about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States