Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
My favorite soup recipe so far this season! It's definitely easier to just roast the pumpkin in halves with the skin on, then scoop out the flesh later. My husband isn't a big fan of nutmeg so I used cumin instead (as another reviewer suggested) and it was the perfect mix of savory and sweet. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This recipie does not have words to decribe how good it is! I absoutly loved it!! When doing it again I would cook the pumkin with the skin on and scoop out the cook pumpkin. it was difficult peeling the pumpkin fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Oh this is a yummy soup, nice and thick, I took one of the reviewers advice and roasted a whole garlic in there and drizzeled oil over it and it just squeezes out I added 4 cloves to it and it was unnoticable I'll add more next time as I love garlic. I once had a pumpkin soup that had cummin in it and I lost it so instead of nutmeg I put a little cummin in it and it hads a nice suttle flavour, I will definatly be making this one again. Thanks Craig, Leanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
not what we anticipated. did not have a good smooth pumpkin flavor, sour, and very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I thought this soup tasted good. i also gave this to my boyfriend (who HATES pumpkin) and he liked it!! The only reason i give this 4 stars instead of 5 is that the recipe turned out WAAAY to peppery! 1 tsp of pepper?? That must be a typo. I ended up having to make another batch (w/o spices) to mix with the original one, to dilute the spiciness (and even then you can still taste the pepper pretty strongly). And yeah, i think the nutmeg amount is also a typo...i only put in half a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I love this recipe and make it at least once a week during the winter months. I also add sweet potato, but I roast it with the other veggies. My husband isn't wild about nutmeg, so I cut back on the amount in the soup and take the nutmeg and grater to the table with me. I'm pregnant at the moment and am turned off by most veggies, but I crave this soup all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I've made this recipe 4 times since November and "tweaked" it with other reviewers suggestions and its come out great. I use a sweet potatoe instead of a regular one, and use 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream, and reduced the nutmeg down to about 1/2 a teaspoon. I made it for my family on Thanksgiving and it got great reviews and was asked to bring it on Christmas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
this was my first time making pumpkin soup. I guess my tastebuds just dont like pumpkin soup because i didn't want anymore after the first spoonful. I'm sure it would have been great for others though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I normally don't like pumpkin soup, but I inherited a HUGE pumpkin from my parents veggie patch, so I thought I'd give it a try. This recipe is very easy, and the soup turned out great! I doubled it, thinking it'd fill a 9 litre pot, but it still only filled just over half - I will triple it next time, as it got eaten very quickly by my 5 flatmates! I added 4 cloves of garlic, and a little less nutmeg, I think next time I'll experiment by adding a sweet potato to the normal potatoes. This one's a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
I made this recipe for 50 people - a great success! I added a couple of large garlic bulbs to the roasting vegetables and squeezed out the roasted cloves to add in when pureeing the soup. Only used 1 teaspoon nutmeg based on 4kg pumpkin. The roasted flavor was distinctive, and the soup was not sweet. The roasted garlic flavour came through strongly due to the quantity I used - but would do the same again! The best pumpkin soup I've ever made - and I've made plenty! My family loves soup - this will become a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States