Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! It does not make a lot, but it is absolutely delicious! The nutmeg adds such a unique flavor, it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made this today! I did some modification for a healthier menu, replacing the cream with non fat milk, and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Great recipe, very simple, also economical, and makes pumpkin soup lovers out of people that don't like pumpkins or soup from my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kosmo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
It's a little more work to use a fresh pumpkin, but it's totally worth it. I went light on the onion, but added about twice the potato and carrot. I halved the nutmeg, and used white pepper instead of black. Add salt slowly--I needed less than a teaspoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
this soup is delicious! i followed the advice of others and upped the roasting time to ~1 hour but the carrots were still crunchy so i had to finish them off in the microwave. because i roasted so long i didn't have to use the immersion mixer, just a couple of vigorous stirs w/ a wooden spoon & the soup became "rustically-creamy"...i wanted a few chunks remaining. like another reviewer said, i used plain low-fat yogurt in place of the heavy cream to cut down on fat grams & calories. i also cut back on the nutmeg & slightly on the pepper. i finished it off w/ bacon (italian speck) cut in strips for a topping...delicious! all-in-all...a WONDERFUL find! thanks! i made it monday night for my roommate & his friend & i'm making it again for a church dinner this sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marco in italia

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it is excellent. However, I do agree with cutting down the pepper a bit. Also, the roasting time given is not sufficient to get the vegetable done. I t results in what one reviewer called crunchy soup. So roast longer. Other than that, it's a very tasty soup with crusty buns on a cold fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I would like to say 4 or 5 stars, but it was way too peppery! Unfortunately 1 tsp of pepper took away from an otherwise wonderful soup. I would go with 1/4 or 1/2 tsp next time. And I only used 1/2 tsp of nutmeg which in my opinion was the perfect amount. Otherwise, I did adjust this recipe but pretty much stuck with the general idea. I didn't roast the veggies as I found this recipe while in the middle of baking the pumpkin. I just sauteed everything (added 1 clove of chopped garlic) and added vegetable broth and let that cook for 20 minutes before adding pumpkin and blending with the hand-held blender. Because I'm trying to be good, I used plain fat free yogurt in place of the cream and was still good. I think it would have been extra special with cream and the roasted veggies. This is definitely an excellent soup but I would reduce the pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lasalle, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Don't know what I did wrong, but it turned out slightly crunchy (even after long minutes in the Cuisinart), and all I could taste was overpowering onion and nutmeg. Never made pumpkin soup before, and I don't know if it's supposed to taste this way or not, but it's not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
this recipe is alright... just needs a spice or two more and it will be perfect. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally_hindal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States