Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! It does not make a lot, but it is absolutely delicious! The nutmeg adds such a unique flavor, it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made this today! I did some modification for a healthier menu, replacing the cream with non fat milk, and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Great recipe, very simple, also economical, and makes pumpkin soup lovers out of people that don't like pumpkins or soup from my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kosmo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
It's a little more work to use a fresh pumpkin, but it's totally worth it. I went light on the onion, but added about twice the potato and carrot. I halved the nutmeg, and used white pepper instead of black. Add salt slowly--I needed less than a teaspoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
this soup is delicious! i followed the advice of others and upped the roasting time to ~1 hour but the carrots were still crunchy so i had to finish them off in the microwave. because i roasted so long i didn't have to use the immersion mixer, just a couple of vigorous stirs w/ a wooden spoon & the soup became "rustically-creamy"...i wanted a few chunks remaining. like another reviewer said, i used plain low-fat yogurt in place of the heavy cream to cut down on fat grams & calories. i also cut back on the nutmeg & slightly on the pepper. i finished it off w/ bacon (italian speck) cut in strips for a topping...delicious! all-in-all...a WONDERFUL find! thanks! i made it monday night for my roommate & his friend & i'm making it again for a church dinner this sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marco in italia

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it is excellent. However, I do agree with cutting down the pepper a bit. Also, the roasting time given is not sufficient to get the vegetable done. I t results in what one reviewer called crunchy soup. So roast longer. Other than that, it's a very tasty soup with crusty buns on a cold fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I would like to say 4 or 5 stars, but it was way too peppery! Unfortunately 1 tsp of pepper took away from an otherwise wonderful soup. I would go with 1/4 or 1/2 tsp next time. And I only used 1/2 tsp of nutmeg which in my opinion was the perfect amount. Otherwise, I did adjust this recipe but pretty much stuck with the general idea. I didn't roast the veggies as I found this recipe while in the middle of baking the pumpkin. I just sauteed everything (added 1 clove of chopped garlic) and added vegetable broth and let that cook for 20 minutes before adding pumpkin and blending with the hand-held blender. Because I'm trying to be good, I used plain fat free yogurt in place of the cream and was still good. I think it would have been extra special with cream and the roasted veggies. This is definitely an excellent soup but I would reduce the pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lasalle, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Don't know what I did wrong, but it turned out slightly crunchy (even after long minutes in the Cuisinart), and all I could taste was overpowering onion and nutmeg. Never made pumpkin soup before, and I don't know if it's supposed to taste this way or not, but it's not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
this recipe is alright... just needs a spice or two more and it will be perfect. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally_hindal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States