Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
If served this, I would eat it again. It could use more flavour. My husband and I agree that it could use more salt, and we're not usually salt lovers. There just isn't alot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was easy to make, if you are patient with the cutting. I made enough for 12, so I used one white potato and one sweet potato instead of two white potato. I added 8 cloves of garlic. I peeled the pumpkin AFTER I roasted the pieces. I learned that my 20+ year old food processor is NOT water tight, so I almost lost my broth, but I got most of it back out, pured the veggies, and then hand-whipped it into the broth and cream. I thought I had nutmeg, but it turned out I had allspice, so in it went. I shredded a little fresh ginger into it, too. A friend suggested that. Chopped up an apple and threw in the chunks AFTER it was pured and reheated. Gave it a few bites of sweetness. It tastes good, but not that much like pumpkin. Maybe because I just used a regular old pumpkin and not a sugar pumpkin? Anyway, I'd try this recipe again, but with the nutmeg and a sugar pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this soup with a few tiny modifications and it was EXCELLENT! So very tasty. Added garlic to vegetables, used half quantity of heavy cream and nutmeg, but added some cinnamon and cumin. .......(2) 3 cloves of Garlic - add to roasting pan with pumpkin and carrots and flavour with your favourite seasoned sea salt; ......(4) After cooking potato in bouillon, add pumpkin, carrots and garlic mixture and allow flavours to mix. Let cool to warm.......(5) Add mixture to blender to blend. I like my soup with bits, so did not puree. Return to pot, add 1/2 cup heavy cream, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tps cinnamon and a dash of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This soup is rapidly becoming a family favorite. The first time I made it I didn't have any nutmeg on hand, but I did have garam masala and it went even better with the soup. Also, 2% or skim milk work just fine if you're watching calories. Also, if you overcook the veggies a bit, the onions get caramelized and add a nice richness to the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong!! This tasted VERY bad. I didn't use a sugar pumpkin, and I didn't use cream-- I used 2% milk. I used two red potatoes. Not sure what happened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Absolutely no flavor at all. I added all spice, cinnamon, a little cayenne pepper, and a little sugar in an attempt to salvage the soup. I wish I could take away some of the nutmeg the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great recipe! I used less cream, a little flour, and more garlic, and it was fantastic! Thick and flavorful, I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
It was delicious! The only changes I made were due to what I had on hand: 1 onion vs. 2 and 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I just finished making this soup and it turned out waaaaaay too bitter. I'm not sure what went wrong. I added less nutmeg and a little extra garlic. does anyone know how I might be able to save it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States