Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Susan Decker- Harner
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I did the lazy girls way of making this. Combined 1 can puréed pumpkin, 2 cans chicken stock, 1 tbls each of salt, parsley, onion powder, and garlic powder. Whisk all together over medium heat (whisk occasionally while cooking ) and let It boil off long enough to get as thick as you would like it then add in a couple spoonfuls of sour cream (that's what I had on hand). It was delicious! The only thing that would have made this better would have been some pumpkin seeds added to garnish and put some chunk into the bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I love this savory pumpkin soup recipe. I also like to add rosemary and a dash of red pepper. Sometimes I'll use greek yogurt or sour cream and some milk or half and half instead of the heavy cream to make it tangy. I also learned that it's easier to get the pumpkin from the skin if I half or quarter it and put it in the oven at 350 until it gets soft enough to easily peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paty
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
For the lactose intolerant that I am, I substituted 3/4 cup coconut milk instead, and added portobello mushrooms for extra Vitamin D (which gooes hand in hand for those of us who can't drink milk. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe for pumpkin soup, although i did make some adjustments to my personal taste. It was DELICIOUS! I halved the recipe and used 3 cups chicken broth (from bouillon cubes, did not add extra salt), i minced some onion and red bell pepper and sauted it with the garlic before adding the broth and pumpkin (probably used about 3 cups pumpkin puree). also added 2 bay leaves, some ground ginger, and cayenne pepper to up the flavor, before i did i thought it seemed like it still needed something. I also used milk instead of heavy cream and it was the perfect consistency. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
The soup didn't have any flavor to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I agree a little with another reviewer that the chicken flavor was too strong as the recipe stands, so I think next time I will substitute vegetable stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Needs zero seasoning and is by far the best pumpkin soup I've ever had or made. I add a dollop of sour cream instead of whipping cream but otherwise it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Fanastic. Added cooked chicken to the puree. Thickened it a bit with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. The flavor was fantastic but there was just to much both and the soup was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brianne Graham
Home Town: Micanopy, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I followed the measurements exactly and the soup tastes awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States