Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This soup is not only easy to make, but incredibly good! I didn't have whipping cream - just used what I had on hand - skim milk. Flavor was still great and felt better because it was less fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Based on other reviews and personal preferences I modified this recipe as follows: 6 cups reduced salt chicken stock 1 1/2 teaspoons salt 4 cups pumpkin puree 1 teaspoon chopped fresh parsley 1 cup chopped onion 1 chopped red pepper 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme 2 clove garlic, minced 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream ½ tsp fresh ground pepper Dash nutmeg I pureed the peppers and onion with a bit of stock prior to cooking. I added the parsley and nutmeg prior to simmering for the last 30 minutes. This soup was so delicious that even the biggest skeptics helped themselves to more. I have made it twice and served it to all ages 2yrs to 85 yrs and everyone LOVED it! So yummy even for people who do not like the taste of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was great! A bit of nutmeg really sets the flavors off, but do it at the end and just add small amounts at a time or else it will overpower the soup. I would also recommend adding an extra clove garlic as it really brings out a bit more flavor. Serve this with a good quality french bread stick (should be very hard on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
We tried this soup and even the sceptics loved it! My husband had to make a second batch just to get some! It's very savory, very creamy. Try using 1/2 chicken stock and 1/2 veg stock. Nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Decided to make this recipe, but didn't feel like going to the grocery store. Luckily, I had two cans of pumpkin. I just minced my onions super fine since I wouldn't be blending the soup. Also, I had to sub half & half for cream. Turned out delicious. I had some zucchini bread leftover from the day prior that I sliced and toasted. Made a great topper for the pumpkin soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Delicious! This will be the appetizer for Thanksgiving. I added a dash of red pepper and some nutmeg, boy did that kick it up a notch! Also cut the pumpkin in half and baked it at 375 for 10 mins first just to make cutting and peeling it a little easier. Definately 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Beacon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Excellent, with a wonderful and complex depth of flavor - in other words, there's a lot more going on here than just pumpkin. Maybe it was because I cooked the onions low and slow for a looooong time, until they were good and caramelized. Maybe it was using a good, rich chicken stock. I took the easy way out (and why not?) and used canned pumpkin, saving both time and effort for the same, delicious result. This was very thick, so I found I needed to use considerably more chicken stock to get the desired consistency. I used half-and-half rather than heavy cream and it worked just fine. I garnished this with a little plop of sour cream and a sprinkle of fresh parsley and cooked and crumbled bacon. Deeply flavorful, satisfying and very gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Neither my wife or I like pumpkin but I know it's good for you so I have been looking for a way to have and like it. Finally, here is the answer. We both really loved this soup and our 4 year old liked it too. I will definitely be making this again but I will probably be making twice as much next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I must say, I am quite surprised by all the stellar reviews. Some have said that they are not fans of pumpkin, and they loved this, so, perhaps that's the issue. I love pumpkin! For once, I followed the recipe exactly, and I found the soup to be quite watery and bland. It tasted more like chicken stock with cream. I attempted to thicken it with a potato, cornstarch in water, and, finally, canned pumpkin. It tasted fine, but, not great, and I couldn't get over the thinness. If I were to play with this recipe, I would definitely do two things differently: I would cut the stock in half and add more if I thought it necessary, and I would roast the pumpkin (as opposed to boiling it in the stock) for a more robust pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was sooooo good. I thought it was yummy and my mom absolutely loved it. It was very thick and creamy. Easy to make, except removing the seeds from the pumpkin..I loved the fact that the recipe called for fresh pumpkin, though. I added red pepper for a little kick. Highly recommended, especially for cold, rainy days. Would be delicious with grilled cheese sandwiches, but definitely enough on its own for a filling meal. Yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States