Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
this is a great pumpkin soup, thank you for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Wonderful soup. I doubled the amount of pumpkin, used ground black pepper, dried thyme, and green onion. Fresh parsley didn´t improve the flavor of the soup; it´s better leaving it creamy instead of having little herb pieces to nibble on between spoonfuls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is really good. I ony gave 4 stars because I doubled the pumpkin, otherwise it looked too thin to me. I used 4 cups salt reduced chicken stock, 2 cup of plain water with one teaspoon of bouillon, a sprinkle of ground black pepper instead of peppercorns & 1 teaspoon of salt. The cream makes it taste outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
i did not like this much but my mom loved it and i mean loved it she ate all of the left overs anyway i rated it 3 stars my mom and my dad would put down 5 but i put down 3 its jest not that good to my sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
1st time I made this, it was a disaster; way too salty, way too thick, and no pumpkin flavor. It must really depend on the exact items you use. The second time around I used vegetable stock instead (and cut back on the onion to compensate) and only added a 1/4 t of salt. I also ended up adding at least an extra cup of water. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was a great soup! The only problem I had was that it was too peppery for our taste. It was almost spicy there was so much. I will make this again, but cut back on the pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This soup was ok....not great not bad. I dont think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I must say, I am quite surprised by all the stellar reviews. Some have said that they are not fans of pumpkin, and they loved this, so, perhaps that's the issue. I love pumpkin! For once, I followed the recipe exactly, and I found the soup to be quite watery and bland. It tasted more like chicken stock with cream. I attempted to thicken it with a potato, cornstarch in water, and, finally, canned pumpkin. It tasted fine, but, not great, and I couldn't get over the thinness. If I were to play with this recipe, I would definitely do two things differently: I would cut the stock in half and add more if I thought it necessary, and I would roast the pumpkin (as opposed to boiling it in the stock) for a more robust pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very tasty. Very easy to follow. My daughter requested I make this so I tried it. May do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I picked this recipe because of the lower calorie/fat content compared to most soups of this nature. I followed the recipe except for one thing...I used fresh butternut squash instead of pumpkin. We only get pumpkin from India here and it's not as nice. I served it with a swirl of whipping cream and parsley on top. I then cut circles of a small baguette and made a notch in them to sit on the edge of the bowl. The ladies at my luncheon all enjoyed the taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States