Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was a great soup! The only problem I had was that it was too peppery for our taste. It was almost spicy there was so much. I will make this again, but cut back on the pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This soup was ok....not great not bad. I dont think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I must say, I am quite surprised by all the stellar reviews. Some have said that they are not fans of pumpkin, and they loved this, so, perhaps that's the issue. I love pumpkin! For once, I followed the recipe exactly, and I found the soup to be quite watery and bland. It tasted more like chicken stock with cream. I attempted to thicken it with a potato, cornstarch in water, and, finally, canned pumpkin. It tasted fine, but, not great, and I couldn't get over the thinness. If I were to play with this recipe, I would definitely do two things differently: I would cut the stock in half and add more if I thought it necessary, and I would roast the pumpkin (as opposed to boiling it in the stock) for a more robust pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very tasty. Very easy to follow. My daughter requested I make this so I tried it. May do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I picked this recipe because of the lower calorie/fat content compared to most soups of this nature. I followed the recipe except for one thing...I used fresh butternut squash instead of pumpkin. We only get pumpkin from India here and it's not as nice. I served it with a swirl of whipping cream and parsley on top. I then cut circles of a small baguette and made a notch in them to sit on the edge of the bowl. The ladies at my luncheon all enjoyed the taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
easy to make and taste delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Based on other reviews and personal preferences I modified this recipe as follows: 6 cups reduced salt chicken stock 1 1/2 teaspoons salt 4 cups pumpkin puree 1 teaspoon chopped fresh parsley 1 cup chopped onion 1 chopped red pepper 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme 2 clove garlic, minced 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream ½ tsp fresh ground pepper Dash nutmeg I pureed the peppers and onion with a bit of stock prior to cooking. I added the parsley and nutmeg prior to simmering for the last 30 minutes. This soup was so delicious that even the biggest skeptics helped themselves to more. I have made it twice and served it to all ages 2yrs to 85 yrs and everyone LOVED it! So yummy even for people who do not like the taste of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was "OK" but kind of bland. I toasted some pumpkin seeds and sprinkled them on top for presentation which helped. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it extra creamy, really what I consider a bisque, by only using about half the stock. I also grilled the whole pumpkin instead of simmering. Not necessary, but added a lot of depth. Surprisingly, this was as tasty before adding cream, so you could skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was a nice change to try and I will make it again. I made a slightly different version: 4 cups chicken stock & 2 cups chicken boullion, 1/2 cup vitamin D milk instead of whipping cream (to make it lower fat) & 2 small cans of pumpkin. Even when using the canned pumpkin, be sure to blend in the blender. It helps the onion blend into the soup and not be so chunky. This seems like a great recpe to freeze in a freezer bag, so I did! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States