Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Made this soup for Thanksgiving. Did not add the Thyme. Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allamuchy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I grew sugar pumpkins in order to make pies for Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, they didn't ripen in time. . . So, I now have pumpkin to use for other things. We've never had pumpkin soup before. This is an excellent -- smooth, rich and flavorful . I did change it up a bit (inspired by Craig's a Pumpkin Soup recipe)-- I sauted the onion and garlic in a pat of butter and small amount of olive oil. I added grated carrots and potatoes and sauted about 5 minutes. Added the stock, thyme, salt and pepper and simmered for about 20 minutes. Added cooked/puréed pumpkin and dash of nutmeg until heated through. Blended, simmered, added combo of half & half and 2% milk. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was bland and had a weird texture. Maybe it was because I used baked and mashed pumpkin instead of fresh, but no one liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I had never had pumpkin soup before and decided to give it a try. Me and my boyfriend both enjoyed this soup. The pumpkin flavor is very subtle. The soup creamy and hearty. It's just a lot of work cutting up that pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
We thought this soup was delicious! I doubled this recipe I used chicken broth (what I had on hand)and also added fresh nutmeg and just added more pumpkin (because people said it was watery. I took some and froze for pumpkin chili and then I cut up 1 Goya Chipotle pepper (in adobo sauce)and added to the remainder, removed as much seed as I could and added cooked gnocchi at the end. A nice spicy pumpkin soup it turned out to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made a vegan version, with canned coconut milk instead of cream. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I had a hard time cubing fresh pumpkin. I might have gotten a really hard pumpkin though. Just obtaining the pumpkin took me almost an hour. The peppercorns did not get ground up during processing and I had to fish them out so nobody would swallow one. In the future I would just use ground pepper. When I first tried the soup, it just tasted like glorified broth, but after sitting in my bowl a few minutes it tasted better. I had some leftovers today for lunch & it was really good, better than last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Excellent! I roasted a pumpkin in the oven first, it's much easier to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Oh yes, very simple & very tasty! The little dash of nutmeg at the end - as another reviewer suggested - was the perfect finish. Also used fat-free half and half instead of heavy cream. I had white pumpkin frozen in packages, so it was easy, and instead of using the traditional blender I used my favorite kitchen tool, my hand blender, right in the pan, so clean-up was a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I love this soup! I have altered it slightly to cut down on the fat and sodium by using 1% milk, and 4 cups of chicken stock/ 2 cups water. This also due to having these items on hand. I do add a bit of cayenne pepper. It freezes great, so I pack up individual servings to take to work. Perfect for cold Alaskan winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States