Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was "OK" but kind of bland. I toasted some pumpkin seeds and sprinkled them on top for presentation which helped. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it extra creamy, really what I consider a bisque, by only using about half the stock. I also grilled the whole pumpkin instead of simmering. Not necessary, but added a lot of depth. Surprisingly, this was as tasty before adding cream, so you could skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was a nice change to try and I will make it again. I made a slightly different version: 4 cups chicken stock & 2 cups chicken boullion, 1/2 cup vitamin D milk instead of whipping cream (to make it lower fat) & 2 small cans of pumpkin. Even when using the canned pumpkin, be sure to blend in the blender. It helps the onion blend into the soup and not be so chunky. This seems like a great recpe to freeze in a freezer bag, so I did! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I did a smaller portion and I already had pureed pumpkin...I simmered 2 cups of pureed pumpkin, 4 cups of chicken broth, with sauteed onions and garlic (in olive oil) I added the spices in the recipe to taste - plus I seasoned with the nutmeg to taste as well. I brought to a boil, and then simmered for 30 minutes, at the end I also substituted the heavy cream with non-fat condensed milk- it turned out great and made it lower in fat. It is really a great recipe! Very savory with the taste of pumpkin throughout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FootballMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
My husband and I made this for our Halloween party and everyone loved it. It was also great as leftovers. The only change we made was to use dried thyme instead of fresh. Even a guy who said he didn't like pumpkin liked this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I had a lot of leftover pumpkin innards after halloween, so I thought I would give this recipe a shot. I did a few things differently- sauteed the onion before adding pumpkin and stock, used half vegetable and half chicken stock, and added extra garlic and peppercorns. It is absolutely fantastic. This is definitely going to be my official after halloween use-up-the-pumpkin recipe. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Lovely! Scrumptious! Filling! I added 1 tbsp of curry powder to spice this up some more along with half a can of mixed vegetables. Quite good. If you love curry, try adding 1/2 to 2 tbsp as desired. I sprinkled 3 dashes of ground nutmeg during the second simmer. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good soup! I would recommend using the original recipe. I halved due to the 9 servings, but was making for lunch so it was more like 4 or 5 bowls. Hearty and easy to make. I garnished with some toasted pumpkin seeds and ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I added a chopped potato and a small chopped carrot without increasing the amount of liquid. Also used a bit of whole milk instead of cream - it didn't need much. Last of all, added about half a tablespoon of chopped ginger and half teaspoon of cayanne at the blending stage. Was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
My husband and I both loved this wonderful soup. He peeled the fresh pumpkin and let me do the rest. A wonderful creamy texture and flavor. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States