Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I picked this recipe because of the lower calorie/fat content compared to most soups of this nature. I followed the recipe except for one thing...I used fresh butternut squash instead of pumpkin. We only get pumpkin from India here and it's not as nice. I served it with a swirl of whipping cream and parsley on top. I then cut circles of a small baguette and made a notch in them to sit on the edge of the bowl. The ladies at my luncheon all enjoyed the taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
easy to make and taste delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Based on other reviews and personal preferences I modified this recipe as follows: 6 cups reduced salt chicken stock 1 1/2 teaspoons salt 4 cups pumpkin puree 1 teaspoon chopped fresh parsley 1 cup chopped onion 1 chopped red pepper 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme 2 clove garlic, minced 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream ½ tsp fresh ground pepper Dash nutmeg I pureed the peppers and onion with a bit of stock prior to cooking. I added the parsley and nutmeg prior to simmering for the last 30 minutes. This soup was so delicious that even the biggest skeptics helped themselves to more. I have made it twice and served it to all ages 2yrs to 85 yrs and everyone LOVED it! So yummy even for people who do not like the taste of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was "OK" but kind of bland. I toasted some pumpkin seeds and sprinkled them on top for presentation which helped. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it extra creamy, really what I consider a bisque, by only using about half the stock. I also grilled the whole pumpkin instead of simmering. Not necessary, but added a lot of depth. Surprisingly, this was as tasty before adding cream, so you could skip it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was a nice change to try and I will make it again. I made a slightly different version: 4 cups chicken stock & 2 cups chicken boullion, 1/2 cup vitamin D milk instead of whipping cream (to make it lower fat) & 2 small cans of pumpkin. Even when using the canned pumpkin, be sure to blend in the blender. It helps the onion blend into the soup and not be so chunky. This seems like a great recpe to freeze in a freezer bag, so I did! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I did a smaller portion and I already had pureed pumpkin...I simmered 2 cups of pureed pumpkin, 4 cups of chicken broth, with sauteed onions and garlic (in olive oil) I added the spices in the recipe to taste - plus I seasoned with the nutmeg to taste as well. I brought to a boil, and then simmered for 30 minutes, at the end I also substituted the heavy cream with non-fat condensed milk- it turned out great and made it lower in fat. It is really a great recipe! Very savory with the taste of pumpkin throughout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FootballMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
My husband and I made this for our Halloween party and everyone loved it. It was also great as leftovers. The only change we made was to use dried thyme instead of fresh. Even a guy who said he didn't like pumpkin liked this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beccaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I had a lot of leftover pumpkin innards after halloween, so I thought I would give this recipe a shot. I did a few things differently- sauteed the onion before adding pumpkin and stock, used half vegetable and half chicken stock, and added extra garlic and peppercorns. It is absolutely fantastic. This is definitely going to be my official after halloween use-up-the-pumpkin recipe. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Lovely! Scrumptious! Filling! I added 1 tbsp of curry powder to spice this up some more along with half a can of mixed vegetables. Quite good. If you love curry, try adding 1/2 to 2 tbsp as desired. I sprinkled 3 dashes of ground nutmeg during the second simmer. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States