Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
A good side dish. Don't think I'll make it again. Too much effort for something so light. I did only put 2% milk instead of heavy whipping cream, so maybe that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Excellent, with a wonderful and complex depth of flavor - in other words, there's a lot more going on here than just pumpkin. Maybe it was because I cooked the onions low and slow for a looooong time, until they were good and caramelized. Maybe it was using a good, rich chicken stock. I took the easy way out (and why not?) and used canned pumpkin, saving both time and effort for the same, delicious result. This was very thick, so I found I needed to use considerably more chicken stock to get the desired consistency. I used half-and-half rather than heavy cream and it worked just fine. I garnished this with a little plop of sour cream and a sprinkle of fresh parsley and cooked and crumbled bacon. Deeply flavorful, satisfying and very gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I agree with those that used less stock. I used 4 cups for a smaller, thicker batch. Simple, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Perfect and lovely, lovely! You don't need to leave the peppercorns whole, just throw in some freshly ground pepper with the whole lot before bringing to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptainGraeme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I took the advice and added a potato for thickness! It was amazing we ate it for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
2 people in my family, so I halved the recipe, worked great. I left some of the pumpkin chuncky when I processed it. Also, will cut stock to make soup a little thicker next time and add a little more cream. Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
i made this soup once and it had good flavor but was a little thin. i made it again adding two chopped yukon gold potatoes in along with the pumpkin and it was delicious! very easy to make and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelburne, Vermont, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Loved this pumpkin soup recipe and will definitely use it again. I added one carrot, cubed and about 1/4 cup chopped fresh celery root because they were hanging around in the fridge in with the pumpkin etc. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duffymoon88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
The second time I made this, I wanted it to be thicker so I reduced the broth to 5 cups, and added a little more pumpkin. My mother simply adored this soup. She is asking for the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
this is a great pumpkin soup, thank you for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States