Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Really yummy soup with some additions. I added several healthy shakes of nutmeg, roasted some pumpkins seeds for the top and drizzled with balsamic reduction. It was tasting a bit "pumpkiny" before the garnishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Simple but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I found this recipe did not have much flavor - pumpkin or otherwise. For a nice, bland, creamy soup I guess it would be ok. I noticed a lot of reviewers said they did not really like pumpkin soup; I happen to be a huge fan and am always trying new recipes. This one could have used some harvest spices like allspice and a dash of cloves or some red pepper or curry powder - anything to give it some oomph. I won't be saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steamincuppaliz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Excellent soup, and a good way to use up home-cooked pumpkin that came out, well, soupy. I added half each of red bell and poblano peppers simply because I had them, but the soup would have been fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is a fantastic soup. I added 1/2 and 1/2 cream because it was what I had on hand, and added approx. 1 1/2 red pepper and freshly graded pepper instead of peppercorns after reading the reviews. I also used dethawed fresh pumpkin i had previously frozen cubed. As a final point , I did puree the pumpkin and garlic prior to adding it to the chicken and vege stock. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I prepared as directed except i used canned pumpkin and 2 extra cloves of garlic and it was very bland, i'm not sure what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
We do not like this recipe. We used a "Chickenless" stock that has been very, very successful in the past. We followed the recipe. We added the bay leaf and the peanut butter as per the comments suggested. The soup did not taste good. We tried adding various spices and sugar for a pumpkin pie flavour, but that didn't work. By the time we added curry and cumin--our usually successful resuscitation of all soup recipes--it just tasted bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used all ingredients accordingly except significantly reduced the amount of water and simmering time. The first time I made it with the liquid amount in the recipe and it just took way too long to reduce. Pumpkins don't need that much boiling anyways and I thought it retains flavor and nutrition better if not over cooked. I suggest using enough liquid so it's just covering the pumpkins (plus a bit more).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is great soup! It was the first time I attempted to make Pumpkin soup. I altered it slightly based on other reviews. I added pepper, 4 garlic cloves, a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg. The extra pepper and garlic adds a little zing. I didn't add any whip cream to keep the calories down. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Served this soup at Thanksgiving dinner and it received rave reviews. I made it a few weeks ago and froze. Still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States