Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I grew sugar pumpkins in order to make pies for Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, they didn't ripen in time. . . So, I now have pumpkin to use for other things. We've never had pumpkin soup before. This is an excellent -- smooth, rich and flavorful . I did change it up a bit (inspired by Craig's a Pumpkin Soup recipe)-- I sauted the onion and garlic in a pat of butter and small amount of olive oil. I added grated carrots and potatoes and sauted about 5 minutes. Added the stock, thyme, salt and pepper and simmered for about 20 minutes. Added cooked/puréed pumpkin and dash of nutmeg until heated through. Blended, simmered, added combo of half & half and 2% milk. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was bland and had a weird texture. Maybe it was because I used baked and mashed pumpkin instead of fresh, but no one liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I had never had pumpkin soup before and decided to give it a try. Me and my boyfriend both enjoyed this soup. The pumpkin flavor is very subtle. The soup creamy and hearty. It's just a lot of work cutting up that pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
We thought this soup was delicious! I doubled this recipe I used chicken broth (what I had on hand)and also added fresh nutmeg and just added more pumpkin (because people said it was watery. I took some and froze for pumpkin chili and then I cut up 1 Goya Chipotle pepper (in adobo sauce)and added to the remainder, removed as much seed as I could and added cooked gnocchi at the end. A nice spicy pumpkin soup it turned out to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made a vegan version, with canned coconut milk instead of cream. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I had a hard time cubing fresh pumpkin. I might have gotten a really hard pumpkin though. Just obtaining the pumpkin took me almost an hour. The peppercorns did not get ground up during processing and I had to fish them out so nobody would swallow one. In the future I would just use ground pepper. When I first tried the soup, it just tasted like glorified broth, but after sitting in my bowl a few minutes it tasted better. I had some leftovers today for lunch & it was really good, better than last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Excellent! I roasted a pumpkin in the oven first, it's much easier to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Oh yes, very simple & very tasty! The little dash of nutmeg at the end - as another reviewer suggested - was the perfect finish. Also used fat-free half and half instead of heavy cream. I had white pumpkin frozen in packages, so it was easy, and instead of using the traditional blender I used my favorite kitchen tool, my hand blender, right in the pan, so clean-up was a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I love this soup! I have altered it slightly to cut down on the fat and sodium by using 1% milk, and 4 cups of chicken stock/ 2 cups water. This also due to having these items on hand. I do add a bit of cayenne pepper. It freezes great, so I pack up individual servings to take to work. Perfect for cold Alaskan winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was wonderful. I did make a few changes. First, I added 5 cups pumpkin, 1 tsp ginger, 2 tsp cinnamon, and about 1 1/4 cups cream. It came out great. Finish with ground pepper and can't stop guzzling this out of a mug on a cold rainy day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States