Pumpkin Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This recipe was obviously not made in a 9 x 13 pan as written to show the picture. Crust ingredient proportions are wrong, there is little flavor to the pumpkin and there was way too much flour in the topping, also lacking flavor. White flour, white sugar and butter do not make a great crumb topping in those proportions. I had to search for other recipes, most of which were variations/copies of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina DeLucchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Super bar - very rich, but delicious! I used the whole can of pumpkin but didn't increase the sugar, and it was perfect. I also added salt to the shortbread crust (but also kept the vanilla, since I like vanilla!) and decreased the flour for the topping. In my opinion, the topping was good, but there should have been more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
These were so good. For topping, I did use less flour and added the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I loved these bars! I added some of the traditional pumpkin or spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves) to the pumpkin mixture to give it a little extra zing. Next time I make them, I think I'm going to grind the pecans up very finely and put them in with the topping at the end instead of in the pumpkin mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
The short...very yummy! The long, I started off with one batch of crust but had to end up making 3. Turns out 3 is just a tad too much, 1 is not enough. 2 Will be perfect when I make them again. Filling definitely needed some spices. I'm glad I read reviews. I ended up adding 1 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. Definitely cut WAY back on the flour for the topping. I did 1/3 C as someone else suggested. It was a bit time consuming for me although simple. Will be a nice change for Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Those are awsome! The only mistake I did was to store them in the fridge, they were kind of mushy the next day and the filling was more hard. Otherwise excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XxlilaxX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Not my favorite. I was on a baking roll and this is just one of several deserts around the house and for my family at least it was the one ignored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was okay, but a lot less pumpkin flavored than I thought. Next time I would add some more pumpkin puree. Also I didn't see the suggestion about adding cinnamon and nutmeg until after I made these. Next time I will add the spices. Also I think the measurements for the topping were a little off. Less flour was needed. All in all in was tasty but could have had more of a pumpkin taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
My boys love these treats! I also added 1tsp cinnamon, /4 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. Reducing the flour in the topping mix is necessary. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greely, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States