Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this last weekend prior to Thanksgiving, to take to a church dinner. Thanksgiving has been ruined two years without trying a recipe first and waited, making it that very day. This one is wonderful. Thanksgiving I'll add pecans (chopped) to icing and I'll be the STAR of the show. Kidding aside - I'll beat what I came up with last year, a recipe HIGHLY touted to be the best flan ever. NOT!!! Thank you so much Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
was really easy to make and tasted great. only thing i did different was added a few sprinkles of nutmeg to add to the pumpkin pie taste my kids love! i also used already made cream cheese frosting, was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Michel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this cake recently. I doubled the recipe and baked in a large wilton pan. I needed to serve 45 people. I did add more cinnamon and some allspice, cloves and nutmeg. I topped it with a cinnamon cream cheese icing and chopped walnuts. Everyone love it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I love it. It is moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is recipe box worthy! Moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Perfect, would have given a five but I added a teaspoon of pumpkin spice and 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves. Otherwise perfectly moist and yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ameliamae
Home Town: Blue Earth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Made with 1/2 C. apple sauce and 1/2 C. oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bberte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made the recipe as is and found it relatively easy to prepare. I baked the cake for 35 minutes then took it out the oven and let it cool for a while. I finished it off with the cream cheese frosting and sprinkles of chopped walnuts. Everyone thought this was great and ate it all up. The cake itself was moist but I thought the flavor was just ok-a little on the bland side. To me I think it could have used a lot more cinnamon; maybe even pumpkin spice for a more rounded flavor. I felt that there wasn’t enough cream cheese frosting; leaving me with a very thin layer to work with. One (3 ounce) package cream cheese, 5 tablespoons butter or margarine and 1 ¾ cups of confectioner’s sugar just wasn’t enough for the entire cake. I would have preferred more cream cheese frosting and a thicker consistency to spread generously over the cake. It was creamy and I could taste the sweetness of the frosting. Everyone else enjoyed this and that is what counts. Thou I have to give this 4 stars based upon the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe is delicious. It never lasts long around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgleason

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Like many others, I used a lot more spices than the recipe called for. I probably used 3 Tbsp. cinnamon, 2 Tbsp. each of nutmeg, allspice, and ginger. Also, I only had 9 x 13 pan so I baked it for about 10 min. longer but it was still slightly uncooked at some places in the center. Additionally, I used 8 oz cream cheese and 6 Tbsp butter for the frosting, but the same amount of powdered sugar (didn't want it too sweet) and no milk. All in all, if you make some tweaks, this is a delicious and moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States