Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Was glad that other reviewers suggested replacing some of the oil with applesauce. I further reduced the oil by one T and then added 1 T of molasses to give more flavor. Because cloves, nutmeg, and allspice are migraine triggers for me, I decided to triple the cinnamon, and replace one cup of the white sugar with 1 cup of brown sugar. I don't have a 10x15 pan so I used 9x12 and increased the baking time. I used my own recipe for cream cheese frosting since I like mine very thick and pretty sweet. Overall, this had great flavor, was very moist, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Just made a variation of this recipe using some advice from other reviewers. I substituted 1 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil and added 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I frosted with a cream cheese frosting shared by another reviewer (8 oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 2 cups confectioner's sugar -- perfect consistency and perfect amount to cover a 9x13" cake). I used a 9x13" cake pan and baked for 40 min. The cake was moist but I personally found it to be too dense, although my husband thought the density was an asset. Even using the spices I did I think the cake could still use more for enhanced flavor. I will increase the pumpkin pie spice to at least 2 tsp, maybe 2 1/2 tsp, if I make this again, and will consider using only 3 eggs to make a less dense version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Thank you Sandy Rowe for sharing this delicious recipe! My husband is NOT a cake guy, he prefers more pies and cobblers, but he LOVED this cake. Will definitely be keeping this in my favorites file. I didn't change one ingredient...didn't have to, it's perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I continue to make this recipe over and over. yes i use more than the called for amount of cinnamon....however if you use a high quality cinnamon you wouldn't need as much as you think. as for the icing you don't need a thick layer of icing if this is made as the sheet cake it was intended to be. My MIL who doesn't like any pumpkin enjoyed it so much she wanted a copy of the recipe. It never fails this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Four words: "Out of this world!" I made the cake exactly as the recipe was written, and I would not change a thing. A few of the reviewers suggested using Cream Cheese Frosting II for the icing, which I did. This was a moist cake, and the cream cheese icing was incredibly creamy with the perfect amount of sweetness. Get the milk ready ... this dessert will melt in your mouth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a hit! Everyone loves it every time I make it. I don't change anything. It's very easy to make and makes a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a.granados
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I thought this cake was pretty good and very easy to make. I did use applesauce in place of the oil and added some pumpkin pie spice (I think I actually could've used more spice). My husband thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I made this as a last-minute fill-in for my cooking group at the supported housing building where I work. It came out delicious, but I have one complaint-- the term "sheet cake" is a bit misleading. A true sheet cake is 18x26 or thereabouts; this is only slightly larger than the standard 9x12 cake pan. Yes, I should have read the pan size more closely, but still. On the up side, even when I put it in a sheet cake pan (and adjusted the baking time accordingly) it came out only about 3/4" high but still very tasty. We quickly whipped up another batch of batter and made it in a smaller pan, and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Manus Kuepker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I loved the way this cake turned out! I made a layer cake and it was very moist. I lightly beat the eggs before adding, and used 2 tsp. cinnamon. The frosting is very soft, which is fine for a sheet cake, but I had to chill it for a while to be able to frost my layer cake. I will definitely make this again and I might add a little more cinnamon or some nutmeg just because I like a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lovell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe was OK, but not fantastic. At the suggestion of others, I added 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, but I think it could have used more. I used unsweetened apple sauce instead of oil. I also used the Cream Cheese II frosting recipe and it was just the right amount and very tasty. Not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States