Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
THIS CAKE IS DELICIOUS!!! I USED MY OWN CREAM CHEESE FROSTING RECIPE THAT MAKES MORE. I LIKE LOTS OF FROSTING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I just made this for a potluck lunch at work, and they were fabulous. I made a few changes for my own personal tastes: I substituted 1/2 cup of applesauce for half of the oil; I added a generous dose of pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon; and I only used 3 eggs. I also cooked them in two 9x13 pans to get a thinner, more "barlike" finished product. Worked perfectly! The bars were thin, moist, and more dense than cake--exactly what I wanted! I didn't measure for the frosting, just threw in 5 T. of butter, 8 oz. of reduced fat cream cheese, confectioner's sugar to taste, and enough milk to make it spreadable. I also added about a tablespoon of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon for flavor. So delicious! I'd recommend keeping them in the fridge because of the cream cheese in the frosting. Definitely worth making, and easy to tweak to fit your health needs or personal tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blueangel_jxi
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueangel_jxi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is great recipe. One lady said she used applesuace instead of oil. I always use applesauce if it calls for oil in all my cakes. It is more moist and is less fat in the end..Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra1949

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central City, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I used pumpkin pie spice II (this site) instead of just the cinnamon. It is good however I may double it, so it can taste a bit more like a spice cake too. I also used the cream cheese frosting II, which is heavenly. I make pumpkin cupcakes with this recipe and the only thing I change is using 3 eggs (cant tell the difference) and 1/2 c. oil 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce. I tried with 1/4 c. oil and the rest applesauce but it was too sticky that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this cake quick the other day just before leaving for work so, it was still slightly warm when I arrived. I put the icing on it when I arrived there and it was GONE within an hour. My co-workers "LOVED" it and everyone wanted the recipe. The only thing I did differently was, I also added 1 and 1/2 teas. of pumpkin pie spice. This cake truly is better than pumpkin pie! It's very moist and rich and the cream cheese icing adds just the right touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Very good I made this into cupcakes. Cut the oil to 1/4 c. as previous poster suggested and replaced the rest with applesauce. Cut down the sugar. Did not add walnuts for people at work with allergies. Added some pumpkin spice. Baked for about 25 mins here made about 22 cupcakes. Everyone ate them up quickly and asked for the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made a trial of this cake today. Despite not having enough flour, not having the size cake pan that is listed, and with two kids trying to help, the cake turned out great! I'm making for Thanksgiving and it will be that much better. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This cake is fabulous! I did make 2 small changes. I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil and I used 2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon. I also used Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site rather than the frosting in the recipe. Baked it in a 13x9 pan for about 40 mins. Everyone loved it at my tailgate party last weekend and I plan to make it again this weekend. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I normally buy pumpkin roll from the Amish and I love it. I decided to make this for a bonfire party a couple weeks ago and we decided that this was almost better then that! Very good recipe and deffinately will make it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States