Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
A few small changes... just did half a cup of oil, and a 1/4 cup of applesauce... they are moist and delicious (i made it cupcakes) and instead of icing i sprinkled them with cinnamon and sugar while warm.... thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is so moist and delicious! I've made this recipe 3 or 4 times now. My husband just loves the cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I am not much of a baker,but have been trying to get over my fear of it. I made this for Easter dinner and found it to be very easy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except I cheated on the frosting. I bought the cream cheese frosting from the grocery store. But it was still very good. My daughter said "you made this mom?...from scratch" I will try making it with the tip on using applesauce and see how it effects the taste. I was surprised about the 1 cup oil because it seemed like alot. I told my daughter about the oil content after she ate it and she was not so happy about that. I said at least you got your vegetable servings for the day..Ha Ha. Thanks for the great cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Awesome!!! Great for cake lovers, like me!! Delish! It came out wonderfully.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I just made this-so moist!!! I did add 1 tsp of all spice, as well as the cinnamon, for a true pumpkin pie flavor. For the icing, I used 8 oz cream cheese instead of 3-it was too sweet otherwise. Also, I cooked it for 40 minutes; it would have been undercooked if I hadn't. This was inhaled by my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I did make some changes to this, and am reviewing mainly to remember them for next time, and there will be a next time! Used 8oz of applesauce, and 2 tablespoons of oil, and used 3 eggs. Added 3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, plus a shake of cinnamon (I may try 2 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 to 1 tsp of cinnamon next time), which gave it enough flavor. I also used brown sugar instead of white but only because I found out I was out of it at the last minute. I think I will keep this ingredient though, much more depth of flavor with brown sugar. I topped this with the Healthier Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site. I took it to a party and it was gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I will never make THIS cake again... too much oil, not enough flour, not enough flavor, had to bake 10 minutes longer than called for and still came out a dense, flavorless disappointment. I can' t comment on the icing because I used a Betty Crocker cream cheese icing, and that was the only tasty part of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Was glad that other reviewers suggested replacing some of the oil with applesauce. I further reduced the oil by one T and then added 1 T of molasses to give more flavor. Because cloves, nutmeg, and allspice are migraine triggers for me, I decided to triple the cinnamon, and replace one cup of the white sugar with 1 cup of brown sugar. I don't have a 10x15 pan so I used 9x12 and increased the baking time. I used my own recipe for cream cheese frosting since I like mine very thick and pretty sweet. Overall, this had great flavor, was very moist, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Just made a variation of this recipe using some advice from other reviewers. I substituted 1 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil and added 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I frosted with a cream cheese frosting shared by another reviewer (8 oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 2 cups confectioner's sugar -- perfect consistency and perfect amount to cover a 9x13" cake). I used a 9x13" cake pan and baked for 40 min. The cake was moist but I personally found it to be too dense, although my husband thought the density was an asset. Even using the spices I did I think the cake could still use more for enhanced flavor. I will increase the pumpkin pie spice to at least 2 tsp, maybe 2 1/2 tsp, if I make this again, and will consider using only 3 eggs to make a less dense version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Thank you Sandy Rowe for sharing this delicious recipe! My husband is NOT a cake guy, he prefers more pies and cobblers, but he LOVED this cake. Will definitely be keeping this in my favorites file. I didn't change one ingredient...didn't have to, it's perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States