Pumpkin Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I am not much of a baker,but have been trying to get over my fear of it. I made this for Easter dinner and found it to be very easy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except I cheated on the frosting. I bought the cream frosting from the grocery store. But it was still very good. My daughter said "you made this mom?...from scratch" I will try making it with the tip on using applesauce and see how it effects the taste. I was surprised about the 1 cup oil because it seemed like alot. I told my daughter about the oil content after she ate it and she was not so happy about that. I said at least you got your vegetable servings for the day..Ha Ha. Thanks for the great cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Awesome!!! Great for cake lovers, like me!! Delish! It came out wonderfully.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I just made this-so moist!!! I did add 1 tsp of all spice, as well as the cinnamon, for a true pumpkin pie flavor. For the icing, I used 8 oz cream cheese instead of 3-it was too sweet otherwise. Also, I cooked it for 40 minutes; it would have been undercooked if I hadn't. This was inhaled by my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I did make some changes to this, and am reviewing mainly to remember them for next time, and there will be a next time! Used 8oz of applesauce, and 2 tablespoons of oil, and used 3 eggs. Added 3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, plus a shake of cinnamon (I may try 2 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 to 1 tsp of cinnamon next time), which gave it enough flavor. I also used brown sugar instead of white but only because I found out I was out of it at the last minute. I think I will keep this ingredient though, much more depth of flavor with brown sugar. I topped this with the Healthier Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site. I took it to a party and it was gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I will never make THIS cake again... too much oil, not enough flour, not enough flavor, had to bake 10 minutes longer than called for and still came out a dense, flavorless disappointment. I can' t comment on the icing because I used a Betty Crocker cream cheese icing, and that was the only tasty part of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Was glad that other reviewers suggested replacing some of the oil with applesauce. I further reduced the oil by one T and then added 1 T of molasses to give more flavor. Because cloves, nutmeg, and allspice are migraine triggers for me, I decided to triple the cinnamon, and replace one cup of the white sugar with 1 cup of brown sugar. I don't have a 10x15 pan so I used 9x12 and increased the baking time. I used my own recipe for cream cheese frosting since I like mine very thick and pretty sweet. Overall, this had great flavor, was very moist, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Just made a variation of this recipe using some advice from other reviewers. I substituted 1 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil and added 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I frosted with a cream cheese frosting shared by another reviewer (8 oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 2 cups confectioner's sugar -- perfect consistency and perfect amount to cover a 9x13" cake). I used a 9x13" cake pan and baked for 40 min. The cake was moist but I personally found it to be too dense, although my husband thought the density was an asset. Even using the spices I did I think the cake could still use more for enhanced flavor. I will increase the pumpkin pie spice to at least 2 tsp, maybe 2 1/2 tsp, if I make this again, and will consider using only 3 eggs to make a less dense version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Thank you Sandy Rowe for sharing this delicious recipe! My husband is NOT a cake guy, he prefers more pies and cobblers, but he LOVED this cake. Will definitely be keeping this in my favorites file. I didn't change one ingredient...didn't have to, it's perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I continue to make this recipe over and over. yes i use more than the called for amount of cinnamon....however if you use a high quality cinnamon you wouldn't need as much as you think. as for the icing you don't need a thick layer of icing if this is made as the sheet cake it was intended to be. My MIL who doesn't like any pumpkin enjoyed it so much she wanted a copy of the recipe. It never fails this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Four words: "Out of this world!" I made the cake exactly as the recipe was written, and I would not change a thing. A few of the reviewers suggested using Cream Cheese Frosting II for the icing, which I did. This was a moist cake, and the cream cheese icing was incredibly creamy with the perfect amount of sweetness. Get the milk ready ... this dessert will melt in your mouth!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States