Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was a favorite at Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
There were great! Perfect for an autumn tea, spread with pumpkin butter and a dollopr of Devonshire Cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
The Pumpkin Scones turned out perfectly! Living in Arizona, the dry weather requires adding liquid to recipes. However, the dough was smooth and very easily handled. I did not need to add any spices either. Excellent! AZSmurf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My husband loved these. He kept eating them, and telling me how good they were. I was a little worried about the recipe after reading the reviews but I had no problems with it. I did have to sub the self-rising flour since I never buy the stuff. I mixed 3 1/2 c All purpose flour, 2T Baking powder and 2t salt, then went ahead with the recipe. They rose very well for me. Also just used a 15oz can of pumpkin. Instead of cutting into rounds, because I'm lazy, I placed the dough on a sheet of parchment paper, pressed it out into a rectangle and then used an oiled pizza cutter to cut it into squares and then baked it. Sprinkled the tops with a little sugar before baking. They came out perfect. I personally wanted a little more spice to them but when I mentioned that to hubby he glared at me. Served this with Cinnamon Honey Butter (AR). Will make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Easy and yummy recipe. Added about double the amount of spices and also about half a teaspoon of mixed spice which I think added a lot more flavour. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bec Irons
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was an easy recipe to follow and low calories which is what I was looking. I used butternut pumpkin to cook and mash which is a sweeter variety. This along with the herbs gave the scones the flavour that dome might miss in sugar content. They turned out light, fluffy and moist in texture that made pleasant eating. I must also add that most of my scone bakes do not work as well as these so I was quite happy with the result, as were my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bec Irons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Based on the reviews, I was surprised how well these turned out. I made them with my 2 and 5 year old kids, and we did the following: used regular flour (half white/half wheat) plus 4tsp baking powder, and subbed 1/2tsp pumpkin pie spice for the spices. My toddler also dumped about 1/4 cup of honey in while I was doing something else, so that seems to have helped as well, because even with it they are not very sweet, but are very scone like. We are eating them now with butter, and everyone likes them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Even tho this recipe got not so great reviews, I had to try it with a few modifications.... For starts, I couldn't help but wonder if the lack of success of others was due to the lack of baking powder. It did call for "self rising" flour, but if you missed that part, your scones could fall flat. I did at first, but ended up adding 5tsp of baking powder to the mix. I also sprinkled a cinnamon/sugar mix on the top and baked for about 35 minutes.. they came out nice and fluffy, more breadlike than scone like, actually, but tasty. They aren't too sweet, but scones typically aren't anyway... a little pumpkn butter and/or devonshire cream would do these up nicely :). I give it 4 stars with adjustments :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made these today with a few modifications - used Bisquick instead of the self rising flour. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I put it into 6 muffin tins. End result was a light, fluffy pumpkin muffin. Delicious! Not a scone, but a very nice muffin recipe when you want one that doesn't sit too heavy in your stomach. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lsfgma
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Made exactly as recipe stated! Raised nice but needs a little more sweetness, so I drizzled maple syrup over it when I served it. Not bad! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States