Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I would not reccomend this recipe. It was very bland, flat, & chewy. I added banking soda on my 2nd batch, which did help it to rise but didn't help the blandness. I sprinkled on a maple glaze, made with powdered sugar & a touch of maple syrup, which gave it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Even tho this recipe got not so great reviews, I had to try it with a few modifications.... For starts, I couldn't help but wonder if the lack of success of others was due to the lack of baking powder. It did call for "self rising" flour, but if you missed that part, your scones could fall flat. I did at first, but ended up adding 5tsp of baking powder to the mix. I also sprinkled a cinnamon/sugar mix on the top and baked for about 35 minutes.. they came out nice and fluffy, more breadlike than scone like, actually, but tasty. They aren't too sweet, but scones typically aren't anyway... a little pumpkn butter and/or devonshire cream would do these up nicely :). I give it 4 stars with adjustments :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
This recipe was bland . . . I would have preferred something with more spice (I even increased the cinnamon and added pumpkin pie spice). I will try the recipe again, adding at least 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 - 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. Plus I have been thinking about replacing some of the flour with oatmeal for some interesting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I'm sorry. These came out like hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
The Pumpkin Scones turned out perfectly! Living in Arizona, the dry weather requires adding liquid to recipes. However, the dough was smooth and very easily handled. I did not need to add any spices either. Excellent! AZSmurf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My husband loved these. He kept eating them, and telling me how good they were. I was a little worried about the recipe after reading the reviews but I had no problems with it. I did have to sub the self-rising flour since I never buy the stuff. I mixed 3 1/2 c All purpose flour, 2T Baking powder and 2t salt, then went ahead with the recipe. They rose very well for me. Also just used a 15oz can of pumpkin. Instead of cutting into rounds, because I'm lazy, I placed the dough on a sheet of parchment paper, pressed it out into a rectangle and then used an oiled pizza cutter to cut it into squares and then baked it. Sprinkled the tops with a little sugar before baking. They came out perfect. I personally wanted a little more spice to them but when I mentioned that to hubby he glared at me. Served this with Cinnamon Honey Butter (AR). Will make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Very chewy. They didn't seem to want to cook properly and turned out to be very heavy with little flavour. Nothing like the pumpkin scones I eat at our local bakery (cobbs) wish I had their recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I wasn't too crazy about these. I added Pumpkin Pie spice and extra cinnamon and they were still bland. I did use real mashed pumpkin, so it had a nice natural sort-of flavor. The dough was also gooy and not good for rolling out. But, all said and done, my hubby liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
There were great! Perfect for an autumn tea, spread with pumpkin butter and a dollopr of Devonshire Cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
I would not recommend this recipe. The flavor was bland and the texture was too chewy to be a scone. And I needed to add alot of extra flour because the pumpkin made this recipe too moist to knead out. Try one of the Apple Scone recipes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States