Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
This recipe was bland . . . I would have preferred something with more spice (I even increased the cinnamon and added pumpkin pie spice). I will try the recipe again, adding at least 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 - 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. Plus I have been thinking about replacing some of the flour with oatmeal for some interesting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
I would not recommend this recipe. The flavor was bland and the texture was too chewy to be a scone. And I needed to add alot of extra flour because the pumpkin made this recipe too moist to knead out. Try one of the Apple Scone recipes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
There were great! Perfect for an autumn tea, spread with pumpkin butter and a dollopr of Devonshire Cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
The Pumpkin Scones turned out perfectly! Living in Arizona, the dry weather requires adding liquid to recipes. However, the dough was smooth and very easily handled. I did not need to add any spices either. Excellent! AZSmurf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I would not reccomend this recipe. It was very bland, flat, & chewy. I added banking soda on my 2nd batch, which did help it to rise but didn't help the blandness. I sprinkled on a maple glaze, made with powdered sugar & a touch of maple syrup, which gave it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I wasn't too crazy about these. I added Pumpkin Pie spice and extra cinnamon and they were still bland. I did use real mashed pumpkin, so it had a nice natural sort-of flavor. The dough was also gooy and not good for rolling out. But, all said and done, my hubby liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
The scones were very popular. I made a cinnamon-nutmeg glaze to drizzle over the scones, which added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
needs to be a bit sweeter, otherwise it is a nice one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I'm sorry. These came out like hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Very chewy. They didn't seem to want to cook properly and turned out to be very heavy with little flavour. Nothing like the pumpkin scones I eat at our local bakery (cobbs) wish I had their recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States