Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
One very important detail that is not spelled out in this recipe and I learned the hard way. After you bake the cake part of it, let it cool a minute or two while still in the pan. Loosen edges and then turn pan upside down over your powder-sugared towels. When you roll it up, ROLL THE TOWEL IN WITH IT. This is where my problem was. I have never made a jelly roll or roll-up dessert and didn't know. Also the cake was too warm and it fell apart. I'll know better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Here's a hint...place wax paper on the bottom of the cookie sheet before you bake it and just flip it onto to towel, roll and cool. The wax paper prevents "rips" or "tears" in the cake and makes the cake much easier to work with. I also used pumpkin all spice instead of ginger and it does seem to add a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This is the exact recipe I've been making for years and it is FANTASTIC! You can also add 1 tsp. nutmeg if you like to batter. The only difference in my recipe is you fold the flour mixture into the egg mixture just untill blended, don't overmix, and the baking time is 375 for 15 min. I bake in a 15x10x1 in.sheet. Can use walnuts instead of pecans. Do not panic if cake cracks when you unroll to fill(don't roll too tight) this is common. Just lightly press together and sprinkle with lots of confectioners sugar and no one will notice! Everyone raves over this! You must try! Oh I forgot, this freezes well too! Thanks Tammy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Always impresses the guests. BTW, you can freeze leftovers (as if there may be some!). Love the hint about baking the cake on foil and rolling it up. So much easier than the dishtowel method I fought with for years. Eliminates a lot of mess. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I have been using this recipe for years. It is great. I make over 100 to give as gifts at Christmas! My husbands board of directors can't wait for them each year. I start in November and freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I make this every yr around fall. Though I will give a little helpful tip. I line my pan with waxed paper before putting in the batter. It makes it alot easier to get it out of the pan, also easier to roll it. I have found that using a towel can be messy & likes to stick. If you waxed paper, before u roll it up, just loosen the paper from the cake edge first =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peaches791999

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I just made a "practice" pumpkin roll. It came out fantastic! I did use wax paper to line the pan. When it was done, I used a knife along the edges to loosen the cake from the wax paper. I carried the cake with the wax paper attached to the counter. Holding onto the wax paper extending from the sides, I slowly rolled it up. The cream cheese filling was easy to make. After the cake cooled, it was easy to unroll (with the wax paper still attached)..I spread the filling then rolled it back up, peeling the wax paper off as I went. Hubby asked why it doesn't break and I think it's the texture of the cake that helps. It has a denser texture than a traditional layer cake.That, in addition to rolling it while it's warm is the key. I've been thinking of making one of these since Junior High Home Ec class where the first one I saw was made by Mrs. Griffith. So, if you have been thinking of tackling making a cake roll, I highly recommend this recipe. It's a great place to start! (and very delicious, too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!! I made this the night before Thanksgiving to take to the in-laws. However, since I am not a very good cook, I ended up forgetting to add the ginger to the cake batter. I did use it in the cream cheese batter and still turned out fine. I also didn't realize the cake could fit on one dishtowel and I broke it in a couple of spots trying to get it on one towel to roll it easier. Received rave reviews at the in-laws...I even took the leftovers form myself. Totally Awesome- just the right rich taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This is a wonderful recipe! The actual baking time is fifteen minutes! And it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is my boyfriend's favorite childhood dessert. I found the recipe on this site and have been making it for him ever since. It is always delicious! We've done it with and without the nuts, and it is better with. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States