Pumpkin Roll with Toffee Cream Filling and Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
This was the best pumpkin roll that I've prepared. I made it for Thanksgiving last year, and it was a hit. You can bet it will be on the dessert table again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
This was a great recipe and was a huge hit with everyone that tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Fabulous!! My 13yr old daughter made this for her first dessert this Thanksgiving. She had a blast making it, and everyone loved it. The only change we had was that we couldnt find butter toffee. So we ground up the Werthers butter toffee flavor candies instead. Tasted great. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
My first pumpkin roll to make and recipe was easy to follow. Took it to my book club and received rave reviews and requests for recipe. It was light and not too sweet. I thought it was heavenly. The best pumpkin roll I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made this cake once, and ever since my husband's family demands it at every autumn gathering. The only thing I changed is that I think it needs a lot more rum. Before adding the whipped cream filling, I brush the interior side of the cake with rum (enough to soak through a little but not so much to make the whole cake soggy). I also add more rum to the filling. As other reviewers have mentioned, I too had a hard time finding toffee (without chocolate) so I used Werther's Originals. As a tip, if you are baking and you recipe calls for just a little bit of alcohol (such as this one), you can usually go to a well stocked liquer or party store and buy the mini airplane bottles for $1-$3. It is so much more reasonable than buying a $40 of alcohol that you won't use for a couple of tablespoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a huge hit at Christmas. It was actually my first attempt at a pumpkin roll, so I was worried on how it would turn out. I used (greased)wax paper on the jelly roll pan before I baked it. This seemed to help get the roll off the pan much faster onto the towel. As for the taste, I personally thought it was a little too decadent. Next time I might cut back on the toffee pieces. But, that being said, everyone else loved it! It was an instant hit and people were begging to take some home with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Bravo. Delicious and Magnifique!! Never would have known it was this easy if I hadn't found it here!! Gotta try this!! I did find the gelatin mixed with the rum part was a bit tricky, and I boshed that a bit, so I added whip cream from a container and an extra tablespoon of the rum to cover my mistake...no problems, it worked great! I'm making this again at Christmas for a party and I am going to omit the gelatin part altogether and save the hassle, since no one even noticed anyway and everyone loved it last time. It's a keeper!!! Thanks! I thought it would take time to make this recipe by the way, I had to send my hubby out for a missing ingredient too and was cutting it close to when it should be done, so when I finally was able to begin, I was amazed at how fast I was able to put this together. Looks like a lot of work, soooo easy though!! forgot to brush the cake with rum too like someone suggested, I think that will be great! I will have to write it into the recipe so I won't forget. the cake part...must use cake flour...it's so flexable. Otherwise it will definately break when rolling. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I finally found it!!!! I have been looking for a Pumpkin Roll recipe that would rival the one that I got from a very upscale restaurant. I moved and misplaced the recipe - I was just sick about it. Then I discovered this recipe and decided to give it a try. I'm so glad that I did!! It is incredible!! Just like the one that I used to make!! This is an absolute family favorite - something that I must make several times in the fall. I had no problems whatsoever making this pumpkin roll. I did use a couple of other review suggestions, but other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Native Cowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oelrichs, South Dakota, USA
Photo by zeveck
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made one for home and four for work and all five were devoured. It's rather sweet, and the rolling is a bit tricky, but the result was delicious and it will surely be made again. Used Captain Morgan's for the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeveck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I love this cake! It's a family favorite. Easy to make, yet VERY impressive! The most recent time I made it, we were making caramel ice cream to complement an apple, pie so I decided to substitute the ice cream rather than use the caramel sauce. It was a terrific substitute. The first time I made this, I was intimidated by the whole rolling part, but it's not an issue at all. Just remove the cake from the pan almost immediately upong removing from the oven. It slips right out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States