Pumpkin Roll with Toffee Cream Filling and Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made this cake once, and ever since my husband's family demands it at every autumn gathering. The only thing I changed is that I think it needs a lot more rum. Before adding the whipped cream filling, I brush the interior side of the cake with rum (enough to soak through a little but not so much to make the whole cake soggy). I also add more rum to the filling. As other reviewers have mentioned, I too had a hard time finding toffee (without chocolate) so I used Werther's Originals. As a tip, if you are baking and you recipe calls for just a little bit of alcohol (such as this one), you can usually go to a well stocked liquer or party store and buy the mini airplane bottles for $1-$3. It is so much more reasonable than buying a $40 of alcohol that you won't use for a couple of tablespoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Bravo. Delicious and Magnifique!! Never would have known it was this easy if I hadn't found it here!! Gotta try this!! I did find the gelatin mixed with the rum part was a bit tricky, and I boshed that a bit, so I added whip cream from a container and an extra tablespoon of the rum to cover my mistake...no problems, it worked great! I'm making this again at Christmas for a party and I am going to omit the gelatin part altogether and save the hassle, since no one even noticed anyway and everyone loved it last time. It's a keeper!!! Thanks! I thought it would take time to make this recipe by the way, I had to send my hubby out for a missing ingredient too and was cutting it close to when it should be done, so when I finally was able to begin, I was amazed at how fast I was able to put this together. Looks like a lot of work, soooo easy though!! forgot to brush the cake with rum too like someone suggested, I think that will be great! I will have to write it into the recipe so I won't forget. the cake part...must use cake flour...it's so flexable. Otherwise it will definately break when rolling. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This is a really awesome recipe. I love it. Two comments, though. One, it seems like you ought to roll it from the short end, not the long end (but I used the long end, anyway, for more servings). And I just threw all 10 tbsp of toffee into the whipped cream and was done with it. Who'd know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
This was the best pumpkin roll that I've prepared. I made it for Thanksgiving last year, and it was a hit. You can bet it will be on the dessert table again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is totally awesome. I have made it twice since finding it and have received nothing but raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a huge hit at Christmas. It was actually my first attempt at a pumpkin roll, so I was worried on how it would turn out. I used (greased)wax paper on the jelly roll pan before I baked it. This seemed to help get the roll off the pan much faster onto the towel. As for the taste, I personally thought it was a little too decadent. Next time I might cut back on the toffee pieces. But, that being said, everyone else loved it! It was an instant hit and people were begging to take some home with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
This was a great recipe and was a huge hit with everyone that tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very difficult to make. But if you're a good baker, maybe it's easy for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
spongy cake. Used traditional cream cheese filling instead of whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I seem to be the only one disappointed in this recipe! I have been trying to find a Pumpkin Roll recipe that rivals one I tasted years ago in the Bahamas. It was made by a local resident and was out of this world! The cake portion was very dark in color, and that is why I chose this recipe because it looked dark compared to other recipes I've made. Well, mind didn't come out dark at all. It was much lighter in color and I didn't like the texture of it at all. I thought it was very bland also. I've made other pumpking rolls with a cream cheese filling which I prefer over this toffee cream filling. I just was not impressed with this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States