Pumpkin Roll with Toffee Cream Filling and Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
This was the best pumpkin roll that I've prepared. I made it for Thanksgiving last year, and it was a hit. You can bet it will be on the dessert table again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
This was a great recipe and was a huge hit with everyone that tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
i could not get this dessert to roll like the recipe says. it ending up breaking and i had to serve it flat. after topping it, it looked like a pan of mush. the taste is not lacking but without being able to roll it up, the dessert was a complete failure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This is a really awesome recipe. I love it. Two comments, though. One, it seems like you ought to roll it from the short end, not the long end (but I used the long end, anyway, for more servings). And I just threw all 10 tbsp of toffee into the whipped cream and was done with it. Who'd know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
EXCELLENT. I made this for Thanksgiving and it got gobbled up so fast there wasn't even a slice to take home! Very sad! I think this is probably the best-tasting cake I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This recipe was okay for me..I think the cake tasted funny, like it was grainy or like it wasn't fluffy enough.(hard to describe!)It also took me a while, and mine cracked in the middle, and became quite soggy..Expensive to make,too, when you add in all the ingredients, like rum.. I will definitely give it another try, though, with some modifications I'm sure it will be wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baconbutterwino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Fabulous!! My 13yr old daughter made this for her first dessert this Thanksgiving. She had a blast making it, and everyone loved it. The only change we had was that we couldnt find butter toffee. So we ground up the Werthers butter toffee flavor candies instead. Tasted great. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
My first pumpkin roll to make and recipe was easy to follow. Took it to my book club and received rave reviews and requests for recipe. It was light and not too sweet. I thought it was heavenly. The best pumpkin roll I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made this cake once, and ever since my husband's family demands it at every autumn gathering. The only thing I changed is that I think it needs a lot more rum. Before adding the whipped cream filling, I brush the interior side of the cake with rum (enough to soak through a little but not so much to make the whole cake soggy). I also add more rum to the filling. As other reviewers have mentioned, I too had a hard time finding toffee (without chocolate) so I used Werther's Originals. As a tip, if you are baking and you recipe calls for just a little bit of alcohol (such as this one), you can usually go to a well stocked liquer or party store and buy the mini airplane bottles for $1-$3. It is so much more reasonable than buying a $40 of alcohol that you won't use for a couple of tablespoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a huge hit at Christmas. It was actually my first attempt at a pumpkin roll, so I was worried on how it would turn out. I used (greased)wax paper on the jelly roll pan before I baked it. This seemed to help get the roll off the pan much faster onto the towel. As for the taste, I personally thought it was a little too decadent. Next time I might cut back on the toffee pieces. But, that being said, everyone else loved it! It was an instant hit and people were begging to take some home with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States