Pumpkin Roll with Crunchy Peanut Butter Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dana Charlee
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
pretty good, it's a nice and filling snack that gives a decent amount of protein. I topped with home-made whipped cream instead of caramel and almond slices instead of peanuts. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Charlee
Home Town: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I am a good baker, and typically a sweet is what I bring to the many potlucks here where we live. I wanted something interesting for Sunday's brunch party, and what a hit! Just the presentation is wonderful. I didn't put the carmel on because I am not a fan of carmel, and I thought it would be too sweet for a morning dish, so I just piped whipped cream along the sides. It was really good. Make sure you put the almond oil in, it really adds a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was a bit of a challenge as I haven't baked a lot. The idea of rolling, unrolling, and then re-rolling the cake was a bit intimidating, but it worked perfectly! This was delicious and very pretty for presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tieki rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The Pumpkin Roll was not hit at our Christmas Table this year. My family and guest all love peanut butter but it just didn't hit the mark. The roll was too moist and was more of a disappointment for the amount of effort it took in preparing. I am not sure what could have made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I thought this was really good. The mixture of peanut butter and cream cheese was different. I was amazed how easy it was to roll, unroll and then add the filling and re-roll. It didn't fall apart at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
There seems to be an unfortunate imbalance in this recipe – way too much almond extract in the filling, too little pumpkin in the cake. I was really looking forward to this dessert to finish off our holiday dinner & unhappily, lead the way with less than favorable critiques. The crunchy peanut butter/cream cheese filling had a pleasant texture & wasn’t overly sweet but I think probably 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract would’ve been plenty. I don’t know if the peanut butter-almond just overwhelmed the pumpkin flavor of the cake but, as a Lover of anything pumpkin, this was just…eh. you know?? On the whole, it’s remarkably easy to put together & has a lovely presentation – no caramel topping necessary. We just used a little whipped cream & nutmeg to accent. I’ll try making it again…when I have more time to “tweak”!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxessence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I love this recipe. I am a novice at cooking and thought this recipe would be complicated, but it wasn't. The icing tastes great. Only two suggestions, make two cakes (use up your pumpkin if you got it in a can) to one filling. MMM MMM good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
much much too sweet would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I reduced the sugar in the cake to 1/8 c powdered sugar and 1/2 cup regular sugar, and this version was teriffic! I kept the filling the same. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I like that this recipe is a bit unusual. Very yummy! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States