Pumpkin Roll II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made these for a Halloween bake sale this year but no one bought them haha. Maybe they were too expensive at $3 a slice but my roommate said she's pay that much for them lol. And now she will be eating most of them herself for free, lucky girl. I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg and allspice and 1/4 tsp ginger to give it more of a pumpkin pie taste. I used pecans instead of walnuts and like another reviewer recommended, I put the nuts in the frosting. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamontheinternet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My first jelly roll, and it worked out really well--no cracking or falling apart, or anything. I cut down the sugar in the batter to about 2/3 of a cup, and next time, I think I'll do the same with the filling; it was a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
pecans go better than walnuts and instead of just cinnamon I used pumpkin pie spice by a whole tsp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Awesome and simple recipe! Made one for work and people could not stop commenting on how great it was! Had enough pumpkin to make another that same night for my family and folks since there were NO leftovers from the first! Definitely worth making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This recipe is awesome! It's incredibly easy to make. My friend has requested it as their very non-traditional wedding cake! I had to make 2 in 2 days to satisfy my co-workers. So good and so easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
FABULOUS! I had never tried a rolled cake of any type, but this was super easy. Couldn't believe how fast it was to prepare. I made them as halloween gifts for the neighbors. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I've made a few different pumpkin rolls, this one is the best by far. The cream cheese icing is even better, this is the best cream cheese filling recipe ever and I plan on using it for any other recipe that calls for cream cheese filling. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommybaker
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
LOVE this recipe! I added an 1/8 teaspoon of allspice and an 1/8 teaspoon of ground cloves to the pumpkin cake to give it a little more spice flavor. I also changed flavoring in the filling to be 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract. That gives it just a hint of almond that makes this a 5 star recipe! I don't use the nuts since so many people have an aversion to them, and so I've never had one crack upon rolling. I've been making these to sell in my cake business over the last 2 weeks and I have made 15 so far with several more orders for Thanksgiving! I pipe cream cheese frosting along the outside with a shell border in the top and then sprinkle shaved white chocolate. I add some white chocolate leaves and pumpkins for a fun fall flare! Thank you for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My husband LOVED this but for some reason I just thought it was just ok. I feel like it is missing somthing but I am not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Girl
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Fantastic! This is (with the exception of Cherlys Cookies pumpkin roll) The best pumpkin roll i have ever had. It stayed moist and the filling was great. I added the nuts to the filling as other reviewers recommended. I think if i make this in the future i will add salt, a little more pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice. The Cake part needed a little something, but other then that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States