Pumpkin Roll II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I gave this recipe 3 stars for taste only, I am an experienced baker, cakes are my specialty. This roll cracked in several places despite rolling it and unrolling while cooling it as I do every roll I make. I also wonder why the originator posted that it takes 2 hours?? No way it takes that long. I had no fears going into this recipe except for the fact that the cake portion is most definitely not sponge cake which is what most easy/successful cake rolls are. I am still seriously doubting that this recipe needs baking soda, I think perhaps a change to powder might be in order as well as a change in the leavening{eggs} to produce more of a sponge. I will be working with this idea of producing a better pumpkin roll, I will be using my own cake roll recipe as a base as it starts with a sponge cake and has never cracked and I've made 100s of them. I'll post it when I get it perfect, until then look for my cake roll recipe, it's so good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Oh wow this was wonderful! Among pumpkin pie, pecan pie, and choclate cherry cheesecake, this Pumpkin Roll was everyone's favorite dessert this Thanksgiving. I too loved it and the filling is so yummy, I was scraping the bowl to get it all! ~~~~ I forgot to add the walnuts to the cake so I just tossed them in the filling and that was perfect, I think I will do that next time also. The filling is not too sweet, just right! I got so many compliments. My one suggestion is use a lot of powdered sugar when dusting your cloth before rolling. I skimped a little on the edges and my roll was almost stuck!! But it came out just fine and was really easy to do. I put my roll right in the freezer for about an hour to let it set up and then stored it in the fridge until serving, wrapped tightly in non-stick aluuminum foil. Yummy, easy, beautiful, and quick, what else could you want?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I tasted the roll right after I made it and thought it was a bit too sweet and a little dry. But after chilling it overnight, is was moist and very good! The chilling is mandatory before serving to guests. I added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This is the best pumpkin roll recipe EVER! Last year my co-workers and friends wanted so many of them I had to start taking orders. I made about 60 of them. I am already up to 40 this season and will be making 20 more this weekend. Everyone said they are the most moist and creamiest pumpkin rolls they have ever tasted! Thank you so much for this recipe because now, in our small community, everyone thinks of me as the "Pumpkin Roll Queen", may the cream cheese live forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
This is a really GOOD pumpkin roll recipe with the exception of the omission of how much salt to use. Also, the ingredients include baking soda yet the directions use baking powder. Which is it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was a great recipe. It was very easy to follow. As a novice baker, I was proud of the result. I found my family in the kitchen fighting for the last piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I had a friend ask if I would bake some goodies for her craft show/sale. I had never tried pumpkin rolls before, but after reading the reviews I made a test roll and wowsers! So easy for a first-timer like me. I tried making multiple batches by blending more eggs at once, then splitting the mixture. It worked, but I did 'remix' the eggs a bit before making the second and third batches. I made 20 and they sold out in less than an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is by far one of the best recipes around! My son entered it into the county fair last year and he was a GRAND CHAMPION bake-off winner! It netted him over $1500.00 too!!! Some tips I've learned over the years: Double the recipe (everyone requests a pumpkin roll from me for Christmas, so I double many times over). When doubling, add the entire can of pumpkin...makes an extremely moist roll that way. Line the pan with parchment paper...much less mess! Chop the nuts (I prefer pecans) to cookie bit size (or buy them that way) and add them to the cream cheese filling. The cake tends to hold together better with less cracking and the nuts give the filling a wonderful texture. I triple the filling mix for the 2 rolls (1/2 as much filling per roll), so there is a thick cream cheese layer throughout. That's what everyone raves about. Lastly, I wrap in plastic while they are still warm and place them in the freezer immediately....locks in the moisture. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
It Rolled nice and it looked great but like the rest of my family I didnt care for It much,I will stick to pumpkin bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
i made this for a get-together. i was very curious to see if it taste as good as it looks (i wouldn't want to bring anything that wasn't delicious) so i tried it. :). it was so good, i had to leave it at home for myself. my husband joined in and in less than 2 days, it was gone. each time i make this, i leave a little for home. it's so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States