Pumpkin Roll II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
i have made this about 6 times during Thanksgiving and it's always a hit. I have used fat free cream cheese and 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar on a couple of the rolls and it still gets a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NafKY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Oh boy, just made this for the first time (second time ever trying a roll type dessert). The taste is absolutely immense! The roll did crack in a couple places despite following the recipe to a T, so got 4 stars for that. But the taste is 5 stars for sure! I added a few chocolate chips to the filling and a teaspoon of pumpkin spice instead of the cinnamon. I used self-raising flour instead of all-purpose and therefore did not put in any baking powder. When they say use lots of powdered sugar for it, they really mean it! Definitely a keeper, would like to figure out how to do it without cracking, but as I said, the taste makes up for the cracks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aylimn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Ennis, County Clare, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I got rave reviews at my boyfriend's family's Thanksgiving. My dessert was unofficially voted the favorite...even over his mom's! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This turned out great! Everyone love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I left out the walnuts to save money, and there is just too much cream cheese taste. It's a very good taste, but I just wish I could enjoy more of the pumpkin bread taste like I'm used to with Pumpkin Logs. On the plus side, following the instructions, it was very easy to make on my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
As a novice baker, I wasn't sure I could make this, but it was easy. It tasted great. If you like carrot cake, you'll love this recipe. The only thing different I did was I added a couple shakes of almond extract to the filling and I used macadamia nuts instead of walnuts. Deee-lish. I just happend to watch a cooking show on TV and they made a roll cake. So I used the tip of starting the roll with your hands and then ust use the towel to push it along and roll it. Not sure if it made a difference. But it was my first roll cake and it didn't crack! Next time, I'm going to make a chocolate sauce and drizzle it over this cake. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a huge hit. Better yet, I made it on Tuesday and Thursday it still looked and tasted excellent. Easy to make -- a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeylaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is a great addition/substitution for a pumpkin pie. I still experienced some cracking in the pumpkin cake, and I could taste a bit of the baking soda. I anticipate that the way you would avoid breakage is by making the cake as thin as possible. And to avoid the hint of baking soda, either only putting 3/4 teaspoon soda and/or sprinkling the log completely with confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwing10101010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is the first time I have made anything like this and I must say it is very easy and very tasteful,,, infact my family would not wait until it chilled I would highly recommend this recipe for anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a near perfect recipe. I swapped out the baking soda for baking powder and added extra cinnamon, used 1/4th tsp of salt. I had no problems "turning the cake onto the towel" .. but, when you go to unroll to frost I could certainly tell why everyone said to put a healthy amount of powdered sugar on the towel.. so REALLY coat your towel. My cakes only baked for 10 minutes until they were done at 375, so. I doubled the recipe and made two rolls; mixing up the cake batters separate but making the icing double batch in the same bowl. Either I put a little too much filling on the first roll (which I don't think I did) or I could have used a bit more icing.. so, maybe make a smidge more icing if you're making two of these. When consulting with my Grandmother (who insisted I wouldn't be able to make this Thanksgiving standard without her recipe) she informed me I probably would crack/break the first one I make and that I should make two, just in case -- but no, no cracks. I'm glad I made two though, they turned out wonderful. Great recipe.. add nutmeg, swap out the soda for powder and don't bake quite as long. And maybe make more filling. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizziepants

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States