Pumpkin Roll I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is only my second time making a pumpkin roll and both times used this recipe. From earlier baking disasters, I've learned to use parchment paper, it never fails! Simple recipe, easy to make. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidiv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Felton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I had a problem with it sticking to the pan and the towel; had to throw two rolls and two towels away. I used parchment paper sprayed with Pam and it came right off the paper without any problems, however when I unrolled it from the towel it wouldn't come off and it crack to unrepairable pieces and the towel was ruined. I have tried three times to make this and it's not working. Will have to find another technique when rolling it and unrolling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Great recipe, it was a hit at my work. As mentioned in other review, I struggled with the damp towel, I'll use the sugar dusted foil mentioned in other review next time. The other issue I ran into was that my pan was too small, thus making my cake too thick. I ended cutting it into thirds and stacking it on itself with the icing in between. Next time I'm going to use a pan larger than 9x13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
i love this recipe.......and this time a year i am in high demand to create this tasty dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScottJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Nothing mentioned in the recipe helped to keep the cake from sticking to everything in creation. Now I have a roll of ripped and torn cake around cream cheese. I'm sure it'll taste fine, but I haven't had anything this embarrassing happen in my kitchen in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Great recipe! Super easy and my family loved it!! I am now asked to make this for every special occasion!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I have always bought pumpkin rolls because I thought they seemed difficult to make. This was better than any pumpkin roll I've ever bought and so easy to make! I accidentally used baking soda instead of baking powder once but it still came out fine! People are very impressed by them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was my first attempt at making a cake roll . It came out great, I did use non stick foil and sprayed it with no stick spray. Surprisingly easy to make . I did add maple extract at the suggestion of one of the reviews . I cant wait to eat it ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kurth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Yummy! I used non-stick aluminum foil to line my jelly roll pan and it worked like a charm - no sticking! I also left out the lemon juice and upped the vanilla extract to 1 teaspoon. For my taste, this called for too much ginger, so I only put in about 1/2 teaspoon and it was perfect for me. I also added a dash of nutmeg.Prior to rolling up my baked cake, I dusted it with confectioner's sugar, placed a piece of parchment on top and rolled it up with the foil and the parchment - worked great with little cracking and no sticking of the cake when it was cool and I unrolled it. Though this is very similar to the Libby recipe, it's just different enough that I got better results using this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
about sticking to pan. if you use the right size pan and generously grease and flour it will not stick. (Parchment is a great idea and will work just fine too) You also must cook the cake until it springs back when touched. Take it out too soon and it will stick to your towel. (use a Tea towel) When you do take it out place it on a rack while you loosen the edges. You must do that. keep going around the pan with your knife until it is completely free from the edges. you will also see it pull away from the pan. I did let mine cool for just 3-4 mins before i turned it onto the towel. Roll it up slowly. Let the rolled up cake cool completely on a rack. And if you use the nuts chop them into small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States