Pumpkin Roll I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I made this for the first time, just this past weekend. The baking part was so easy, but to use a towel dusted with confection sugar was an ABSOLUTE HUGE mistake. I had to throw my first 2 cakes and the towels away, because they stuck to the towel so bad, and I didn't even want to bother washing them.WHAT A MESS!!! I tried aluminium foil, greased and dusted with flour and it worked WONDERFULLY!!! Just pulled it right out of the pan, put a piece of parchment on top, and rolled it right up in the foil. The recipe is 5 star+. I didn't use lemon juice, and instead of the cinnamon and cloves, I used 1TBLSP of pumpkin spice. Everyone was raving how heavenly it tasted. I will def. make over and over. Can't wait to give away as small gifts for Christmas. Thank you!!!! Another thing I forgot to mention, i didn't use any lemon juice or the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
i don't add lemon juice and it turns out just as good...you can use heavy duty foil instead of wax paper it works alot better just lay your foil in the pan pour a little grease on top move the pan around and pour your batter on its much easier ...when the cake is done take it out and roll the foil in the cake while its hot ..let it cool .. unroll the cake add your filling then roll it back up with out the foil.. its so much easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Excellent! I've been looking for this recipe for a while now! I did make one change--I left the nuts off the cake portion, because it becomes too hard to roll. You can, if you want the nuts, add them to the cream cheese filling, that way the cake doesn't fall apart when you roll it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I've been making this for years as is....but this year I decided to add 1 tsp. maple extract instead of the vanilla to the filling and it was OUT OF THIS WORLD! It was a much better match of flavors between the pumpkin/pecan cake and the filling -- YUM YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was wonderful, my family and friends loved it and it was simple! I have to add something to this....i used parchment paper in my pan also it worked great it made it easy to get the cake out, i did notice that if my cake wasnt quite done yet it would break after being rolled up but i used the filling to patch it and then roll it worked great! Also my family enjoyed it slightly frozen, i just put it in the freezer and then take it out when we want a quick desert, it does thaw and become moist its delicious either way....if you havent tried this recipe you should! Definetely freezing the roll after it is complete has worked for me the best, I'm able to slice it while frozen and then serve it thawed. works great! Also I just made some recently and I baked the cake in foil and then put parchment paper on top and rolled it, It does work great! I got this tip from another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
Great recipe.. I have been making these for years and had lost the recipe, thank goodness I found it here! Easy to make and everyone loves them. Here's an extra tip: To keep roll from falling apart when rolling, reduce heat a few degrees or reduce cook time a couple of minutes and roll slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Tastes very good. It is a good treat to take to Thanksgiving or Christmas gathering. I used a 13x7 cakepan lined w/ wax paper. I also, rolled it tightly with a clean pillow case. (My dish towels are not the Bakers smooth towels) One small can of pumkin makes 2 pumpkin rolls. One I added nuts to. The other I added chocolate chips. Don't add extra Pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I've used this recipe for years now and have given them as gifts as well. It is easy as long as you remmember to spray the foil with a cooking spray generously. some people use towels but i found foil works as well and they can be rolled right back in the foil for refegerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Mirage, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This turned out perfect! I made these for Christmas and people actually fought over the last slice. Ha,Ha! I made them a month in advance and froze them. I defrosted them in the fridge for a day and they were still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This was my first attempt at making pumpkin roll. Be sure to dust the towels well with powdered sugar (mine stuck to the towel a little then cracked while trying to pull it off). The filling was also very good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARA428

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Forge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States