Pumpkin Roll I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Everyone who had a piece of this raved about how delicious it was. I have to admit though, I actually messed the ingredients up a little bit. I mistakenly put 3/4 c. of pumpkin puree in instead of 2/3 c. Since I accidentally did that, I added about an extra tablespoon of flour into the mixture. It still turned out fine. Also, some of the comments for all of the pumpkin rolls on this site talked about how bland the actual cake part turns out in comparison to the cream cheese frosting. I decided to use 3/4 t. cinnamon and 1/4 t. pumpkin spice to give it some extra flavor. In doing that, I don't think 1/2 t. would have given it enough spice to it. I think next time I may even do a whole t. of cinnamon and a 1/2 t. of pumpkin spice. It could have used even more flavor. For the frosting, I substituted Neufchatel cheese for the cream cheese and there was no difference at all. I would also recommend sifting the powdered sugar before mixing it for the frosting. My powdered sugar got a little lumpy, although you couldn't tell at all when it was rolled up into the cake. My method of greasing the pan was to use a cooking spray, heavily spray the pan, and then flour it after. I let the cake cool on the pan for a few minutes and then I took a small and narrow plastic flipper and slid it around all under the cake to loosen it. I quickly flipped it onto the towel, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
it really is easy! and very basic. i want to try this with some chopped pecans in the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Super easy to make and comes out looking like it's store bought! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Everyone loved! A tad tricky getting out of pan, but not bad. Next time, I'll try parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claudia53bb
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. I made it for this past Thanksgiving as an extra dessert to make things a little different this year. It turned out sooooo goood! everybody loved it, I wish I had made 3 of them, as it didn't last long at all. I made it that same morning and kept it in the fridge wrapped in plastic until ready to serve. I followed someone else's suggestion to put powdered sugar on the towel before turning it, and it did crack a little but didn't break and it didn't look bad either. Thanks for sharing. I'll be making this again very soon for a Christmas party :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia53bb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this for my family on Thanksgiving 2011, it was a hit! My family loved it we had no left overs! I followed this recipe, but since the rolling part seemed a little difficult for me, I looked it up on youtube, and guided myself by the youtube video! Thank god for youtube! I'll definitely be doing this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good! First time I made it the cake was a little bland, so I took another reviewer's advice and upped the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon and added 1 teaspoon allspice. It was just right. Used the icing recipe as written. Also lined the pan with parchment and sprinkled comfectioner's sugar on the tea towel. Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Comes out tasty, but I disagree that it is "easy" to make, unless you have all the proper gear. Mine kept falling apart when I went to roll it, I didn't have a "jelly roll pan" but used a cookie sheet and I didn't have the tea towel but tried with aluminum foil. I wish the recipe had more detail. That being said I thought it was a bit of work to make, and presentation didn't come out as nice looking for me, but I made up for that by cutting it into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fk2123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
THANKSGIVING DESSERT 2011 - I don't think pumpkin roll can go wrong for Thanksgiving. This recipe was great. I made 2 rolls. 1 for my family and 1 for my husband's co-worker. When I sent the roll with my husband the day before T-day, he came back with the pumpkin roll! Sadly, his co-worker's wife was diagnosed the previous day with diabetes. I think I'll try to freeze the other roll for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good! I added nutmeg to give cake a more pumpkin pie like flavor. So simple to make, very impressive presentation and was a huge hit. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States