Pumpkin Roll I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Terrific! Very easy to make and absolutely delicious. As one reader suggested, I dusted the cotton towel with confectioner sugar before flipping the slightly cooled baked dough onto it, rolled the towel/dough and let chill in fridge for a few hours to cool completely. Also as suggested, added 1 Tsp of allspice to the frosting mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great comments on Thanksgiving! It broke in half when I unrolled it to add the filling, but it tastes the same, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving, turned out great, everybody loved it. I used a soy based non-dairy cream cheese due to a family member's dairy allergy, no one would have known had I not told them. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this recipe for my son with a few modifications (as he has a gluten allergy). Only thing I changed was adding all purpose gluten free flour. All other ingredients were GF. It was my first time making a "rolled" desert. It was amazing! I imagine it would be just as good with regular flour, if not better. The rest of my family couldn't even tell that this was a "gluten free" dessert. Will definitely be saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Excellent texture and flavor...not too many steps! Great to make with a friend or child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was my first roll I've ever made and it turned out great. People are convinced that I'm an amazing cook! :0) Tastes amazing! Easy and fun to do! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this tonight and it turned out great. The sponge cake part needs some flavoring; added 1/4 tsp of ground allspice and a 1/4 tsp of salt. Otherwise, no other changes were made to the ingredients. The cake needs to be baked in a 15"x10" jelly roll pan so that it can be rolled thinly and with minimal cracking. Used cooking spray to coat the pan then added parchment paper and coated it with shortening and flour. Baked it for 15 min. until the toothpick came out clean. Use a lot of confectioners sugar! Sprinkle the towel liberally with the sugar before inverting the cake onto the towel and sprinkle the cake, too before rolling it. Roll the towel into the cake and let it sit on a wire rack for 30 min. When it's time to add the cream cheese mixture, it won't melt since it'll be cool enough. Wrap the roll in foil when you're done rolling it again and place it in the refrigerator for a few hours so that it can set up. Delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have to give this 5 stars because if I had made it with dairy, it would have been sensational! However, my son is allergic, so I made this with soy butter and soy cream cheese. AND it is still super duper yummy! The cake is so moist. Very easy to handle (putting it in the tea towel to roll). I used a 9x13 pan. The cake is probably thicker than it should be, but I don't care ~ it was still delicious. My son said, "mmmmmmm, cup-key" after trying a bite. He's 2 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDNICONNALLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Hesitant on whether to rate this a four or five; until I experiment with other recipes, a five will do. Is it just me or does flour not mix well with pumpkin? It was like an off-white marble affect that could look cool, but to me, the baker, it's aggravating. I'm not sure I love the the texture of the cake either..but maybe that's because it's a sponge cake? Maybe..I'll keep trying; they're fun!! thanks for making it so easy an anti-climatic ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Tasted great! I used low fat cream cheese and it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States