Pumpkin Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was delicious. The only thing I did differently was heat the liquids over low heat. I didn't need the last 1/2 cup or so of liquid. Also, I only had dried thyme, so that's what I used. We really enjoyed this, and it let me use up half a can of pumpkin that I had sitting in my pantry. Now, I just need to use up the other half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was lovely comfort food on a cold evening. I added mushrooms as per a fewother reviews, and also tried some of the mixture with canned tuna stirred in as a complete meal option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I would eat this every day if I could! I made a smaller batch before Thanksgiving to try it out, and loved it so much I made a double batch on Thanksgiving so I'd have plenty of leftovers! I made it with the mushrooms and served it inside roasted acorn squash halves, and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This recipe is absolutely delicious! It is however, time-consuming as risotto is - but well worth it for the excellent taste and texture. I used a bit more white wine than the recipe called for, and it had a nice finish to it. I will make this again; the parmesan cheese makes a wonderful topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I adore this recipe. I am pretty much addicted to all things pumpkin! This had a good flavor and not overwhelmingly pumpkiny. I made a couple of small changes... I omitted the wine and added a splash of vinegar + water. I used more than 1 cup of pumpkin because I had a large already opened can and didn't want to waste. I used dry thyme. And I added a lot of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was okay. I also thought the pumpkin flavor was rather mild. Maybe that's the point? I had a sugar pumpkin I needed to use and it served it's purpose well. Not sure what the difference would be using canned versus a roasted pumpkin? It was a great color though and tasted just fine, but nothing amazing. I also added a bit of chopped mushrooms. I'll try again next fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I turned this into a main course by adding shittake mushrooms, shrimp, asparagus and topped with walnuts. It was easy to make and was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Excellent recipe!! I've made this a few times now and love it every time. I normally roast a sugar pumpkin rather than using canned and toss all of it in so probably have a good 3-4 times the amount of pumpkin called for. I like the chunky texture of mixing in fresh pumpkin rather than the pureed canned kind. Also substituting hard cider for the white wine is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Made as written. Excellent side dish. Didn't taste too much pumpkin but definitely a different taste than plain risotto. Was a perfect side dish to pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was a tasty generic risotto. This subtlety of the pumpkin was overpowered by the other components of the dish. I tried to bring out the pumpkin by skipping the bouillon, but the flavor was still lost amongst the onions, garlic, and parmesan. Still tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States