Pumpkin Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I give this recipe 4 stars because the flavors are delicious, but it can easily be a 5 star dish by adding some changes. to the mixture: 1) I added a teaspoon of minced garlic to give it a more savory flavor 2) added a 1/4 cup of cream cheese (i like my ravioli really cheesy). The cream cheese perfectly complemented the pumpkin flavor 3) I used pumpkin pie mix instead of straight pumpkin puree. The Sauce: Instead of the recommended sauce, I used the remaining pumpkin pie mix to make a pumpkin sage cream sauce. It was absolutely delicious. Just mix in a shallow pan or skillet a 1/2 a cup of pumpkin pie mix with a cup of heavy cream. Add 1/4 cup of romano cheese. Chopped some sage leaves and put it into the mix. Add pepper and salt and stir the mixture. Let the sauce simmer for a few minutes until the sauce thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Haven't tried this recipe but an easy trick to make it easier is to use wanton skins available in any grocery store instead of makeing dough from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! I made the following substitutions: used a combination of homemade kefir-based ricotta-type cheese and store-bought Neufchatel to replace all the ricotta in the recipe and used tomato sauce instead of tomato paste (it's what I had). I just didn't need to add any water to the pasta dough. I've often made noodles from scratch before, but this was my 1st time making ravioli. It was time-consuming, but a fun project for my 6 yo to help with. Just make sure you dry the ravioli as directed before boiling...otherwise, you'll end up with the filling leaking out into the pasta water (like I did). This is definitely going into my regular recipe rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This recipe has inspired me to turn it into a desert using wanton wraps. Add sugar and vanilla to the punpkin mixture and deep fry. Sprinkle with powered sugar and serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Really great flavor! I am using it as an app. on Thanksgiving. It takes a little practice to make the ravioli pretty if you have never made them before. I even made the recipe non-dairy by using a little tofu 'sour cream' instead of the cheese and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
I LOVED IT!!! It is a FANTASTIC way to use up the pumpkin frozen after Halloween-Pumpkin is VERY nutritious, and my kids were a little leary at first because of the color, and they thought pumpkin was only for pie- but one taste and they were hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This recipe has been repeatedly used for making pasta dough (I have yet to make the ravioli, though.). With just a little bit more flour added to the recipe, my bread machine did all of the work in preparing this dough. Then, I prepared it using my Kitchen aid pasta attachments to create fettucini. Thank you so much for submitting such a great recipe. I'll be sure to make it into ravioli in the future as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1GoodCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This was very tasty. I substituted canned pumpkin for fresh, and therefore used more pumpkin and less ricotta cheese. I also added some sun-dried tomatos and a small bit of roasted red pepper to the pasta dough. I served it with an alfredo sauce I made from butter, milk, cornstarch, and parmesan cheese. I also added about 1 tablespoon of maple syrup to the sauce, since I wanted it to be just a bit sweet. My husband and I both loved it. It's only 4 stars, though, because it does involve a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
A wonderfully flavored ravioli. I was looking for a pumpkin ravioli that held up to the flavors I wanted and this was the recipe. This fit the bill beautifully! I have to say however, to those who gave this less than it a deserved rating simply because it took some work I have to ask " WHAT THE HECK ARE YOU THINKING?" The whole idea of making these wonderful ravioli is making them from scratch. What may I ask were you looking for? Go to your grociers premade pasta shelves if you want to do less work, but be forewarned, 1) you won't easily find pumpkin and 2) you won't find the flavor.If you don't want to do the work to have the experience of creating something from scratch than don't rate it, but if you are not feeling lazy, go for this recipe because it is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Loved this pasta. It really helps to have a Cuisinart to kneed the dough, a pasta machine to roll it out (works WONDERS) and a pastry wheel. Since I have all three of these tools, this was a breeze to make. I have also made a lot of other homemade pasta. If you have never made it, give it a try but set aside some "learing time" to get used to the process. I used Mace instead of nutmeg as it is a bit warmer. I used regular canned sauce and it was yummy. Worth the work. The only thing I need to practice is not getting air into the pockets as the ravioli floats to the top then. I also had a few "blow out" while boilding. You'll want to gently simmer this to keep the ravioli pillows intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ysidro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States