Pumpkin Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very good, not traditional scones at all, more like a big soft cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Perfect recipe! I made this exactly as directed and they came out perfect. Each sheet of scones took 12 1/2 minutes to bake, just as recipe states. They were EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY! Wrap tightly in saran wrap after baked and enjoy next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this in a mini muffin pan for my son's preschool class. So, of the kids ate it, but the adults ate what was left! The scones of course are harder than muffins, so it was not as appeasing to chldren as it was to the adults, but I've been asked to make it again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Garden Farms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These scones were easy to make and hard to mess up. I only used the ingredients I had (I substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour, and omitted the allspice, cloves, pecans, and raisins.) and didn't beat the eggs, and they were still fantastic! They are definitely not hard, dense scones; instead, they're soft like muffins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justin
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Once I bit into one, I knew I had to have seconds; very delicious. I recommend using demerara (raw) sugar in the cinnamon/sugar blend for sprinkling on top before baking. I passed these around at a church function and got rave reviews, even after a few days in an air-tight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
You're right, these are not the consistency of scones, but who cares! They are very tasty and were easy to make. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Yummy! This is a perfect way for using pumpkin. Hubby can get enough of them! The only change I made was following the advice of one of the posters who said to make it like a regular scone and used only butter since I did not have any applesauce on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerSnap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Easy & delicious. Definitely more muffin in texture & taste than a scone. I used half splenda & half sugar (and accidentally used less sugar than called for - halved the recipe & used 1/3 c sugar, 1/3 c splenda instead of a full cup of sugar) and they were still great! Also, used almonds instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made some modifications to the recipe. I mixed all dry ingredients together, cut in 1/2 cup cold butter until coarse crumbs, then mixed in the raisins and nut. In a separate bowl I whisked the eggs and pumpkin puree together, then added to the dry ingredients, just until blended. I divided the dough into 3 equal parts and rolled each into rounds, then cut each into 8 wedges. I brushed each scone with milk then sprinkled the cinn/sugar mixture on top. These were quite yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffalochef
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
As you may see from other ratings... I change up most every recipe. this one, I dont care for raisins so I substituted dried cranberrys, forgot to put sugar/cinn on top for baking.... and they were delicious any way. I also thought 36 were way too many for two of us... wrong. I made 3 or 4 tablespoon sized and its a nice single serving... Anyway, I scaled in 1/2 then made another batch this am. (while coffee was brewing... they are that easy!) This time I jested a small amount of a Clemintine orange into the dough, Pushing them to 5 stars. These are a must save for pumpkin, scone, muffin or just fun treat lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffalochef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States