Pumpkin Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because of the fabulous flavour. However, the method was a little off for me. I've never personally used a scone recipe where you cream the butter and sugar. I could see it working for a drop scone, but if you want triangle scones like the picture I suggest using this method. 1.Mix the flours, b.p, b.s, spices, salt and sugar (I used brown sugar instead of white and decreased it to one cup) in your bowl. 2. Cut in cold butter, (I omitted the applesauce and increased the butter to 1/2 cup)similar to a pie dough method, but leave chunks of butter a bit larger. 3. Mix in the raisins and pecans (I used one cup of each). 4. Whisk together the eggs and pumpkin, then mix into the dry ingredients. If you overmix it, it might get a little sticky, but just flour your board a little when rolling the dough into a flat round (about the size of a side plate) and it'll be fine. 5. Cut into 8 wedges, brush with water, then sprinkle with brown sugar. I work in a cafeteria and my customers go nuts over these! Hope you will too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker-@-Heart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made some modifications to the recipe. I mixed all dry ingredients together, cut in 1/2 cup cold butter until coarse crumbs, then mixed in the raisins and nut. In a separate bowl I whisked the eggs and pumpkin puree together, then added to the dry ingredients, just until blended. I divided the dough into 3 equal parts and rolled each into rounds, then cut each into 8 wedges. I brushed each scone with milk then sprinkled the cinn/sugar mixture on top. These were quite yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
These were very good, I saw the comments about how these scones are very muffin-like, so I decided to actually make them as muffins. I halved the recipe and made 12 large muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Valdivia, Los Lagos, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
These are yummy but are more like muffins as stated. I didn't have applesauce so I used prune baby food instead and they came out fine. My husband loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
These were absolutely delicious, everyone loved them and I didn't change a thing. I used unsweetened applesauce. I called them "Pumpkin Muffin Tops." :) Don't forget the cinnamon-sugar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Easy & delicious. Definitely more muffin in texture & taste than a scone. I used half splenda & half sugar (and accidentally used less sugar than called for - halved the recipe & used 1/3 c sugar, 1/3 c splenda instead of a full cup of sugar) and they were still great! Also, used almonds instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very nice taste and super easy to make. I did not give this a 5 star rating because I really really really didn't want anything Cakey. I specifically wanted to make scones. If I knew it was going to be this way I would have saved myself quite a bit of time and put the batter in some muffin pans. This recipe as is would make a very tender and tasteful pumpkin muffin that I would easily rate as 5 stars. However this is NOT the consistency of scones :-( Really disappointed... they resemble large spongey cookies :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These scones were easy to make and hard to mess up. I only used the ingredients I had (I substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour, and omitted the allspice, cloves, pecans, and raisins.) and didn't beat the eggs, and they were still fantastic! They are definitely not hard, dense scones; instead, they're soft like muffins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna F.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
These are pretty good (but I felt not good enough to share with the neighbor I made them for). I *would* rate them as 3 stars if the poster didn't let us know they are more muffin like then scone. Since I was expecting it I say 4 stars for sure. They took 12 minutes per pan of 4 large triangle shaped scones. This recipe made 24 total. I used cranberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna F.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Perfect recipe! I made this exactly as directed and they came out perfect. Each sheet of scones took 12 1/2 minutes to bake, just as recipe states. They were EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY! Wrap tightly in saran wrap after baked and enjoy next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States