Pumpkin Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
These are yummy but are more like muffins as stated. I didn't have applesauce so I used prune baby food instead and they came out fine. My husband loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
You're right, these are not the consistency of scones, but who cares! They are very tasty and were easy to make. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Perfect recipe! I made this exactly as directed and they came out perfect. Each sheet of scones took 12 1/2 minutes to bake, just as recipe states. They were EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY! Wrap tightly in saran wrap after baked and enjoy next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Easy & delicious. Definitely more muffin in texture & taste than a scone. I used half splenda & half sugar (and accidentally used less sugar than called for - halved the recipe & used 1/3 c sugar, 1/3 c splenda instead of a full cup of sugar) and they were still great! Also, used almonds instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
These were very good, I saw the comments about how these scones are very muffin-like, so I decided to actually make them as muffins. I halved the recipe and made 12 large muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Valdivia, Los Lagos, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna F.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
These are pretty good (but I felt not good enough to share with the neighbor I made them for). I *would* rate them as 3 stars if the poster didn't let us know they are more muffin like then scone. Since I was expecting it I say 4 stars for sure. They took 12 minutes per pan of 4 large triangle shaped scones. This recipe made 24 total. I used cranberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna F.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
These are definately a good, low fat muffin (does not mean low-cal!). I halved the recipe and baked them about 10 minutes extra in a muffin pan and they were still quite moist. The applesauce flavor was a little stronger than the actual pumpkin, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This will go quite nicely with a sweet drink!...or chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this in a mini muffin pan for my son's preschool class. So, of the kids ate it, but the adults ate what was left! The scones of course are harder than muffins, so it was not as appeasing to chldren as it was to the adults, but I've been asked to make it again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Garden Farms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I liked this, but had a hard time making 36 servings - I got to 24 servings. It is definitely more like a muffin than a scone. I substituted Splenda for the sugar and used equal amounts of raisins, dried cranberries and dried chopped apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States