Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I used my used jack o lanterns from my pourch. Cute them up and baked them on a cookie sheet for 1 1/2 hours. It was not easy to peel the outside off. I had to use my blender and that took a while. I will not use my puree to make the chocolate chip pumpkin bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
nice! i opened the pumpkin by hammering it in the middle and then cooked it for an hour with a little bit of water on the bottom...i made some fantastic pumpkin bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was my first attempt at making pumpkin puree. I couldn't find 'sugar pumpkins' at my local grocery store, so I just bought a plain ol' Jack-o-Lantern. It was good sized, but not massive. (And truth be told, I let it sit out on the front porch for a few days first before I cooked it up!) There seems to be a number of ways to cook pumpkins--water, no water, oil, no oil... I opted to slice it into big chunks, then put it in a cake pan with a little bit of water (1/2-1") at the bottom. Then I covered the whole thing with tin foil. I didn't use any oil because I wanted the puree in it's purest form. And I was afraid it would dry out if I didn't add some moisture, but boiling seemed too processed. I had 3 large pans of pumpkin I cooked it for about 1 1/2 hours @ 350 (I just kept checking it until it was soft enough to put a fork in the meat). Then I put the meat in my cuisinart and pureed away. I froze it in 1 and 2 cup increments in freezer bags. This morning I made the Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies III from this site and... drum roll... they were sooo good! So the Jack o' Lantern worked fine--no funky flavors. UPDATE: The pumpkin puree is great for cookies and muffins, but hasn't worked so well in pumpkin bread... I've made it twice now and it has sunk in the middle a little. So maybe there was too much moisture or something (?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was an easy recipe especially since it was my first time baking a pumpkin. I read somewhere else that you should put a cup of water in the baking pan and to put some olive oil on the pumpkin before you put it in the oven. It took a little over an hour to bake but that was because of the size of the pumpkin. I also read in a previous review to cut the pumpkin in quarters to help the cooking process and not to wait to pull the pumpkin apart. I can see how if you let the pumpkin cool it would be difficult. This all worked perfectly together and the pumpkin was easy to pull apart from the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
EASY! Perfect pumpkin puree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This recipe was very easy. The pumpkin fell right out of the skins. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
OHMYGEEZ! This recipie worked awesomely! It was so easy to scoop out the pumpkin stuff. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linzi501

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Great recipe! I never thought it would be so easy to make pumpkin puree. I will never buy the store bought again - well, pumpkin puree is hard to find here in Germany. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by TLOZEC
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I have used this recipe over and over again for further use in soups, cakes and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLOZEC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deal, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This absolute worked for me. I used the puree in a pumpkin cookie recipe. The cookies were to die for! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States